We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A TRUE DINING EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yantar

Yantar
Ranked #16 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are having a guest MIchelin star winning chef cooking a special tasting menu during the dates of Feb 25th thru the 28th. Call for more information.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A TRUE DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Went to Yantar the other day and just had the best experience. The place is just amazing. The cava is huge and you can see it from the table. The view of the lagoon is a must but the service and the food are just amazing, theres no words to describe it. The foodddd!!! ohhh what a great food. Every bite is a experience of good flavors. The presentation is unique. The Gazpacho is delicious. They have a tasting menu that looks hard to refuse. Definetely you have to try this restaurant, if you dont go you will be missing a really good dining experience. Prices are really good and the wine list is amazing. Great service,food,prices,ambience,drinks,view!! everything was perfect at Yantar!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    97
    29
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Wine List and Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was a definite find in the Condado section of San Juan. We first went for drinks and tapas at the bar on a casual walk through town. What a find!! The wine list was top notch and the prices were so reasonable. We found our favorite wine that we drink in NYC. In addition, the tapas were spectacular. Our favorites were the hamburgers and pork belly. The view of the lagoon was the best. However, the best part was the warmth and service of the men at the bar, David and Oscar. On our second visit, we ate our dinner at the table facing the lagoon. Again, the service is beyond spectacular. There is nothing that they wouldn't do for you. The tortilla is like nothing you have ever had. Ivan, the manager and server went out of his way to please us and describe in detail all of the different selections. We will definitely return. We come to Puerto Rico once a year and this restaurant is definitely the best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A group of 6 of us arrived for dinner on a Saturday night. Because we were early by Puerto Rican standards (7:30pm), they graciously accommodated us. It was an excellent choice. As the only vegetarian in the group, the owner went out of his way to help with my choices - a mango gazpacho and mushroom orzo with Parmesan. The other 5 all had different entrees which included several different fish choices and one T-bone steak. Each said their choice was delicious, perfectly cooked and the presentation superb. The service was attentive and pleasant but not intrusive. Treat yourself to a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DSOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I give this a SIX!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Could be one of the best dining experiences I have had and if I am come back to San Juan I will be paying them another visit. I would have chose the degustation menu except that I had a big lunch and wasn't up for some many courses. I will choose this next time just to taste the flavours the chef can come up with. I had the Cod over a bed of risotto, the size was perfect and could be the best fish I have ever had and I followed it up with the rice pudding. In between the staff brought out a free appetizer, after dinner handmade chocolate and drinks. Overall they are the whole package and at a very reasonable price. I might have to come back to San Juan just to eat here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott22-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great food, prices, and service. The chef visited our table and spoke of her culinary career, and later treated us to an incredible, mouth watering dessert. The food just melts in your, that's how fresh it is. The Manager was very attentive and treated us like family. The restaurant is beautifully decorated with a mesmerizing underwater theme. It has a spectacular view of the Condado bay. Don't miss out on this culinary delight!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yantar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Yantar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing