We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and fun: American breakfast, Tunisian flair, Puerto Rican hospitality!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carthage Express

Carthage Express
Ranked #96 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Mediterranean, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun: American breakfast, Tunisian flair, Puerto Rican hospitality!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This quirky diner is simple and has standard American breakfast with cappuccino, Puerto Rican mallorcas, and middle eastern fare. There is a center island like a breakfast bar with Tunisian history, hookahs and beautiful Moroccan serving dishes displayed, surrounded by a train track that loops through the open kitchen. When your meal is ready, the train delivers it from the open kitchen to the dining area. The cooks love it and have more fun with their toy train than all kids combined. Service is fast and friendly, prices are reasonable, and while I didn't understand the lyrics, the lively music set a fun atmosphere. Expect the unexpected.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    36
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Food served on a train - eat and enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We used TripAdvisor for all our selections in Puerto Rico and this is another restaurant that we enjoyed!

Carthage Express is not fancy - but it is a nice simple restaurant. The treat is sitting at the counter and the train brings your order at the stop where you're seated. Our family was 2 over 50, one in college and one in high school and we enjoyed it as much as little kids ; -)

If you are in Old Town San Juan - this restaurant is a nice oasis for a great entertaining meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dagsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo,Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chu Chu Train Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This comfortable, clean, great service restaurant is quite good. Love their burgers and fries. The treat is sitting at the counter and the train brings your order at the stop where you're seated. Kids love this. I've been there a few times and the service is excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We actually came across this restaurant due to a recommendation from a local we asked where was a good place for breakfast. This place did not disappoint. Very friendly owner and good selection of breakfast choices. Coffee is worth the trip alone. It's the only place in Old san Juan that we ate at twice during our 4 day visit. Besides where else can you get your meal served by a model train. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brewcrew26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excelente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice service and fairly fast. Fell in love with
the lamb, best that I have ever tasted. Recomend this to everyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliewinter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carthage Express also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carthage Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing