We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carthage Express

Carthage Express
Ranked #96 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Mediterranean, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
mt. pleasant
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had the breakfast sandwich with fried potatoes. Sandwich had ham, egg and cheese on , I guess , Tunisian bread, all for $3.99. Delivered by a small train that goes around counter, so kids would also enjoy. Saw other customers using free wi fi. Dinner menu looked to have good choices at good prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    36
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What an interesting place to go to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We went for breakfast and the food was hot and cooked to order. I had eggs, sausage and French toast. Yummy! My wife had pancakes. Coffee was out of this world. Food came out on a train from the kitchen making it unique. The music was Tunisian and was very befitting the place. Don't miss this one

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldManBinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Best Kept Secret in Old San Juan"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We accidentally found this cute café while walking around the area. We decided to have breakfast the next day. Sure wish we had found it sooner! The place was very clean, staff extremely friendly and helpful, but most of all the food was excellent! It's a fun place too! The food is carried out from the kitchen on a little train the goes around a U-shaped counter. It stops near your table and the server brings it to you. We enjoyed our breakfast and the delicious coffee and wished we had one more day to come back for lunch or dinner. Next Time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank delawaremir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went here because of the all day breakfast. Good coffee, good food, good prices, good service and a delightful train brings the food from the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wow This is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were looking for a breakfast place and the sign Breakfast served all day caught our eye. What a neat place! Clean, wasn't crowded and the service was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, cooked to order and I'm picky about breakfast food. Had scrambled eggs, bacon and pancakes, all good! Our plates were delivered by Train Express. There is a horseshoe counter that has a railroad track and a Train engine with flatbed cars. The plates are put on the flatbeds in the kitchen in back and the train comes down the track and delivers your food. Cute!
The service staff was very willing to provide us with information and went out of their way to provide us with answers to our questions.
All this and reasonable prices to boot!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carthage Express also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carthage Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing