We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Trip to Rainforest & Waterfall”
Review of Across Caribe

Across Caribe
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Salsa Dance Class in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ACROSS CARIBE offers ADVENTURE TOURS around Puerto Rico! From going off the beaten path in El Yunque Rainforest to explore the ancient history of the island. We are specialised in Nature, Culture, Marine Tours and Workshops!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 27, 2017

My friends and I had an incredible time hiking through the rainforest and swimming to the waterfall. There was cliff jumping and rope swinging from the rocks too. Our awesome guide, Manuel, prepared delicious fresh fruit and then after leaving the rainforest, we stopped by for some yummy local eats! I HIGHLY recommend this tour and Across Caribe!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"el yunque"
in 40 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 18 reviews
"rainforest tour"
in 13 reviews
"rope swing"
in 8 reviews
"musical experience"
in 2 reviews
"locals visit"
in 2 reviews
"puerto rico"
in 39 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"natural pool"
in 2 reviews
"swimming hole"
in 2 reviews
"water shoes"
in 4 reviews
"ceviche"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 5 reviews
"a late lunch"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

We booked the day (9-5ish) tour and our tour guide was Fico. We were picked up exactly when we were told, from our lodging in Miramar, and Fico was friendly and personable right away. The trip included a stop at a fruit/vegetable stand, a hike through the forest to a swimming hole, and we got to swing into the swimming hole with a rope. After the hike, we were brought to have local cuisine, which was also fantastic. Everything about the tour was great, and the experience is unforgettable.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JMOcasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

It was an amazing experience. Our guide FICO was an amazing person : very helpful/ respectful, knowledgeable which made the whole experience even more enjoyable. He cut the fruit for us with so much love and expertise that we did not enjoy eating fruit so much ever. He made the whole experience really unforgettable. I was so happy to see that there are still good and wonderful persons existing in the world . The beauty of the place of course was wonderful but his love for the entire group made it even more enjoyable. GOOD JOB FICO : KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK !!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Seema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Manuel was a great guide! We got picked up at our hotel, then about an hour's drive to El Yunque for a rainforest tour. We stopped and got fresh fruit, then off we went on our hike.

A couple of things... you WILL get wet. You WILL get muddy. Do NOT wear jeans and water shoes are a MUST!

This was a great family adventure. After traversing a stream, we climbed about 50 feet almost upward on wet stones and tree roots, this is not for those who are physically challenged, but Manuel was great! Providing great steps as to how to move about and making sure everyone was safe and had a good time.

Once we reached the pool and waterfall, he cut up the fruit we bought earlier for snacks
And it was delicious. All in all a great day.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We booked an Afro Percussion Drum Workshop with them and came from the south of the island for it. They sent a cancelation email 4h prior the event, while we were already on the road. Spent a lot of time in San Juan's traffic jams just to find no one there and no one was answering the phone either.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AdrianaCocic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACROSSCARIBE, Owner at Across Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Our sincere apologies for this terrible inconvenience! The teacher let us know that he became unavailable and therefor we had to cancel, we could not arrange anything else within this short timeframe.
A situation like this did not happen ever before and we feel bad for our guests that came from the South Side to attend this class. We did try to reach out to our guests but were not able to reach them unfortunately. In july and august we have limit hours, knowing from 8:30-12:30pm to be reachable. We hope that for our guests and us as a company, which highly values customer service and being reliable, this won't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Across Caribe also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Across Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing