We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photo and rain forest tour”
Review of Across Caribe

Across Caribe
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Salsa Dance Class in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ACROSS CARIBE offers ADVENTURE TOURS around Puerto Rico! From going off the beaten path in El Yunque Rainforest to explore the ancient history of the island. We are specialised in Nature, Culture, Marine Tours and Workshops!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 3, 2017

Both guides on the photography and rain forest tours were excellent! Very patient, helpful and informative. Highly recommend them.

Date of experience: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jamesdetata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"el yunque"
in 42 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 19 reviews
"rainforest tour"
in 13 reviews
"rope swing"
in 9 reviews
"musical experience"
in 2 reviews
"locals visit"
in 2 reviews
"puerto rico"
in 40 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 4 reviews
"natural water slide"
in 4 reviews
"water shoes"
in 5 reviews
"ceviche"
in 5 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"fruit stand"
in 2 reviews
"dry clothes"
in 3 reviews
"unforgettable adventure"
in 2 reviews
"swimming hole"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 2 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2017

Everyone's nightmare in scheduling and prepaying for an excursion is that the people you hired will not pick you up. Well that's exactly what happened. We were there with 10-15 minutes to spare prior to the departure time and nobody was there. We called them and after numerous bouts with the answering machine, found out they already left our party of 9! Then they said there was nothing they could do and they would refund HALF our money! They then claimed to have paid the 400+ half back and American Express told me they had not. Thankfully American Express paid us back but that didn't resolve the headache and missed excursion of El Yunke National Rain Forest on Puerto Rico we had been so looking forward to!

Date of experience: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACROSSCARIBE, Owner at Across Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Unfortunately the story of this customer is not completely true. We as a responsible and professional company would never refuse a pick up of our guests!

This particular group came from a cruise ship. At time of booking over the phone we agreed with client to customize our tour itinerary from 9-5pm towards 8:30-3:30pm.
We were at the agreed meeting point from 8:30-9:01am but we did not find the group. 30 minutes waiting/searching for us is the limit, specially if we have other guests also in the vehicle waiting to start the tour. We went back to our location to change into a smaller vehicle as we now only had 2 people to take on tour (which we usually don't operate due to minimum requirements). Once we got in contact with this group, we were told that the lead traveler provided the wrong phone number and email address (home/work) so that they did not receive any of our calls and messages. They explained to be at location from 8:45am onwards (which is 15 minutes late).

Through several ways we tried to reach out to them:
8:22 am call
8:32 am call
8:45 am call and voicmessage
8:47 am text message
9:01 am text message
9:30-10:00 am several calls up an down trying to arrange a solution. We were not able to satisfy this guest. As we did change already into a smaller vehicle, and had the other guests also waiting from 8:30-9:01 am, we could not return to change vehicle again en pick them up as this would cause too much delay.

Customer was not able to join us any other day and we refunded 50% due to the circumstances that same day. Not sure why his creditcard company informed them this was not case as we do have proof of it. We feel we did everything in our power to accommodate this group and followed our guidelines. We understand the frustration of our guests and tried to come up with a fair solution. After reimbursing 50% they claimed a dispute on the full amount which now is being solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

My brother and I went on the rain forest tour and it was amazing! It ended up just being us two on the tour because the other guest never showed at the pick up spot. Our tour guide was great! He really knew the history of Puerto Rico and facts about the surrounding nature. It was about the journey not only the destination. On our way to the rainforest we got to see the country side and even stopped to see a beautiful hidden beach and tried sugar cane juice. Once we got to the rain forest we hiked up the river where we swam by the waterfall, jumped off cliffs and went down natural water slides. We ended the trip with a great lunch on the beach. Over all an amazing experience!

-Amanda

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank amandasullivan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

This trip was the absolute highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico and will definitely be part of any future trips we make to the island. Our guide Sahid was great and helped us pick out interesting and delicious locally grown produce at the market. The rainforest and the waterfalls were beautiful. We opted to do the extended hike and go to the upper set of pools where the waterslide and jump were. We got there at the perfect time and our group had the area to ourselves for awhile.

On the way back, Sahid helped guide us to a fantastic place to eat with the best ceviche fish dish we have ever had. The mofungo was also terrific. The tour took all day from 9am until around 5 and the whole family (with teens) enjoyed the day immensely!!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Robb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2017

Wow, this tour just blew me away. I have been to rainforests before but the hike and waterfall visits here were fabulous. Sahid Perez was the perfect tour guide- smart, strong and sweet. I was the eldest in the group at 59 and Sahid helped by holding hands during the slippery slopes. The hike was a little challenging to me but the scenery was once in a lifetime. This is a MUST DO when you visit San Juan. I just got back to my hotel feeling grateful I did this!!! PaulaMarie

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank PaulaMarie197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Across Caribe also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Across Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing