We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but needs some work”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Los 2 Cuernitos

Los 2 Cuernitos
Ranked #676 of 992 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Do you know what a Puerto Rican grandma’s cooking tastes like?THIS is what a Puerto Rican grandma’s cooking taste like! Rice and Beans, Mofongo, Stewed Meats... the good stuff that fills your belly and makes you happy. Placed on popular Fortaleza st., this 100% criollo restaurant with an inviting cavernous interior is a perfect spot for Old City walkers. Family friendly and budget oriented; lunch specials are available Monday-Friday.Los 2 Cuernitos is grounded in it’s traditional roots with artisanal hand crafted masks decorating the walls. This former “chinchorro” offers over 50 flavored rum based “chichaito” shots that work as cordials with your meal or just for fun. Live salsa music on Thursday Nights.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but needs some work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

the food is good and the service also but when it came to pay my bill they had no idea how to work the ATH Machine and when I asked for a glass of water it never came, I had to go to the bar my self to get it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladydemona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Cuisine & Charming Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very good find in old San Juan...located in the shopping district the ambiance and character inside were a bonus to the excellent prepared authentic spanish dishes we enjoyed. We ate the mofongo skirt steak with ensalada, and a churraso skirt steak with black beans and rice, and plantains. Our waiter DiMarco was extremely charming and offered menu choices and explanations making sure we were delighted and enjoyed our meal. Prices were reasonable and
the service was great. Stop in and relax for awhile. The $1.00 shots on a Sunday afternoon were a bonus to our visit here. Thank you and we will go back. Suzanne

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank General M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
“Best of the Best... in True Puerto Rican Food, Atmosphere, Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We eat at Los 2 Cuernitos in San Juan on our most recent trip to Puerto Rico. The food was excellent, as well as the service and the atmosphere.. coming from Puerto Rico, my friend just happened to find this small gem by following his 'nose'.. You will not be disappointed.
We will definitely go there again, and highly recommend it to those looking for the true food of Puerto Rico.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candyland201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best.......El mejor..,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Is a place with a very nice energy where all who work there are young guys, very kind , very friendly and attentive that they care that you feel comfortable and nice, the place is clean with great food and very good prices; my friend and I declare it as our favorite restaurant . There serve all Puerto Rican plates, and all are excellent. The special drink was "Chichaitos" .. Great fully recommend them. Thank to all of you and a big hug to Joaquin Jimenez who was great with us .. Kevin and Luis

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank resurreccion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Old San Juan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Such a great atmosphere, outstanding service, and the prices are amazing for the value and portions. I loved the variety in the menu, everyone in our big group found something they liked. I ordered the "Volaito" (crispy breaded chicken) and was very impressed, this is not your typical breaded chicken. My friends had the Red Snapper, called "Chillo" in Spanish, with a side of rice and beans, and were raving about the rich flavor. If the portions weren't so big, they surely would have gotten seconds. Last year we went to Los 3 Cuernos, a bar that sells a local drink called Chichaito, but with added natural flavors and is owned by the same people. The scene there was younger and more for the nightlife folk, this is a whole other kind of ambience, more sophisticated and refined, but still affordable. The restaurant sells 10-15 flavors of their famous Chichaito drink and I highly recommend trying all of them if you have good tolerance, everyone else tries to copy them, the flavor is unparalleled. The experience felt very local and cultural, it's like eating comfort food at your grandma's house, I highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los 2 Cuernitos also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Los 2 Cuernitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing