We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Mulino san juan puerto rico...at the Ritz

Il Mulino san juan puerto rico...at the Ritz
Ranked #241 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are craving Italian while in San Juan, this is a great place to go. We loved all of the antipasto and the rest of the meal. Good wine selection and great service. Plan to be there a while as it is a process but lots of fun!

Helpful?
Thank tropicaltraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    36
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord Twp, OH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of our best meals ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at a lot of high quality 5 star restaurants and Il Mulino ranks as one of the best. From the small plates and cheese which you receive first to the amazing service this restaurant is sure to please. The only downside to me is the atmosphere. We were staying there at the Ritz which has a casino in it and Il Mulino had some of the curtains open in the dining room. The open curtains meant a great view of rows of slot machines, not exactly what I expect to look at while dining at the Ritz.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferH1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Definitely not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I went there with my wife for dinner and immediately after sitting down we were presented with a few different little dishes "compliments of the chef" which were really good. During this time all of the staff was very helpful and really made us feel taken care of. Unfortunately it started going downhill from there as our appetizers and entrees were really just mediocre dressed up american italian food. My wife got the dessert plate which had 3 small desserts on it, and 2 out of the 3 (cheesecake and tiramasu) were the worst desserts we have ever had (yes really ever). Also during dinner/dessert, service dropped off and no one came around to ask us how things were. My only guess is that they knew how bad the dessert was so they wanted to avoid having to hear it from the customers. Oh, and weren't we supposed to get a drink of grappa with our bill? Didn't happen.
Do yourself a favor and forget about "fancy" italian food while you are in PR, you'll be happy you did and so will your wallet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagaman, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our meal was wonderful and the service was great. Some of the best Italian food I have ever had. It is expensive but you do get what you pay for. If you don't mind spending a lot on dinner you will get a first class meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The service is like nothing we'd ever experienced before. Waiters in tuxedos immediately brining small bites like fried zucchini, garlic bread, and chunks of parmesan cheese cut from a HUGE block right at our table. Our entrees (chicken parmesan and mushroom ravioli) were outstanding! Highly recommend this if you love Italian food and GREAT service!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mulino san juan puerto rico...at the Ritz also viewed

 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Il Mulino san juan puerto rico...at the Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing