We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality”
Review of Cafe Don Ruiz

Cafe Don Ruiz
Ranked #1 of 25 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Don Ruiz is a specialty coffee shop & museum. We offer hot and cold drinks prepared by baristas, also, breakfast, lunch, pastries and more. Enjoy a puerto rican rum, craft beer, cigars, or a specialty drinks including refreshing fruit smoothies wihile you have a relax moment in our historical building. We are located inside Ballaja courtyard in front of "El Morro" Fort.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The coffee here is one of the best I've had in town. I bought a second espresso and some ground coffee to take home after having the first beause i was so impressed. The pastries were very impressive. The location is attractive and worth going to even if the museum upstairs is not on your agenda.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SGHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeDonRuiz, Manager at Cafe Don Ruiz, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. It was a pleasure to offer our coffee and products in Don Ruiz. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 327 of 398 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

We enjoyed having coffee and pastries at this wonderful cafe. He service was extraordinary and the food out of this world.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeDonRuiz, Owner at Cafe Don Ruiz, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. We are very happy for your visit. Our mission is to offer the best coffee direclty from our farm in Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent coffee and paninis. Nice setting in the courtyard of Ballajá. I've been in all of the main coffee houses of Old San Juan and this has the best coffee!

1  Thank pfkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeDonRuiz, General Manager at Cafe Don Ruiz, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We are very happy for your visit, and to offer you our coffee and paninis. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The coffee here was amazing everything from drip to espresso was incredibly well done and tasted delicious. The staff were really nice and helpful and they even had Almond milk for those interested. Great place to stop for coffee!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeDonRuiz, Owner at Cafe Don Ruiz, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

It was a pleasure to receive you in our coffee shop and to offer our coffee and pastries. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Happened upon this place while visiting the beautiful courtyard of the Museum of the Americas. Great fruit frappes and delicious banana muffin. Really nice guys working there. Glad we found this place

1  Thank kamiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeDonRuiz, Manager at Cafe Don Ruiz, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We are very happy for your visit and review. Thank you for your feedback related to our frappe and pastries selection.

We hope to see you soo in our cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Don Ruiz also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Don Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing