We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal out of our six day trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas - CLOSED

Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Spanish, Caribbean, Latin, International, Mediterranean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
488 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Best meal out of our six day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great food. Personalized service. The concierge will not tell you about this place. With a 60 dollar bottle of wine, a 1 pound lobster tail, and appetizers and my wifes dinner, it was by far the best food experience we had. The drinks at Marmalade are great and the food is ok, but overpriced, andthe service stinks. I felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant here. Great menu, Great prices, friendly service, and even the owner came over to talk to us. This is my highest recommendation for food in all of San Juan. Off the beaten track, but worth it. Definitely five stars in mine and my wifes eyes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ernierad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    22
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Spanish Caribbean taste worthy of your time and money but not really tapas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying in isla verde, we were looking for nicer and healthier options. based on TA reviews, I tried to look up a menu but nothing online yet. we were looking for small plate Tapas to share. we gave it a shot with my wife, mother n law and 2 elementary ave girls. the menu was too small to count as Tapas and several of the entrees were pricey. but the offerings were varied and more importantly, everything we tried was excellent. skirt steak was better than Argentinian steak house down the block. there was no wine by glass list, beer section list or cocktail list as expected for a place such as this. very modern decor. the owner was extremely friendly and actively engaged in the service. we'd return on our next visit and will recommend it to our PR friends.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The place has very nice décor. On a Friday night, not too crowded which was good. Service was overall, poor! Disorganized, with multiple servers coming and not doing much. Got served a glass of water and had to wait for a while. Nobody asked whether we were interested in having any drinks, no wine list was offered. We sat and waited. Appetizers- ordered the soft shell crab and guacamole. Tasty but way too greasy. The pork dumplings- just ok, they probably came straight from a refrigerated box. Our glasses of water were empty. Nobody came to fill them up. Had to grab one server to ask for some white wine and for water, nobody filled the water glasses. Had the entrée at the table- the special of the day- mahi mahi in garlic sauce with sweetpotato mash. What can I say? The fish and the mash were drowning in a pool of butter. Almost done with the entrée due to extreme hunger, then the wine finally came. They probably went to Spain to get it! Very dissapointing experience, obviously not interested in learning about any desserts. Just wanted to get out of there as soon as possible. The worst thing? They were clueless about the bad service they provided.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in Isla Verde!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I went for lunch, its open 12-3pm. The place is beautiful. The greeter/owner turned out to be a former AlDente server who recognized us: Jose Barbosa. The food is marvelous. For starters we had the garlic shrimp, succulent! Then for lunch churrascos with plantain tostones (they were out of the breadfruit tostones :( ) Everything cooked to perfection, the service immaculate. Look forward to our next meal here!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant by accident after a long days driving. It looked so inviting, modern clean décor and beautifully lit. So having been attracted by its look, we decided to try its food and service....and were we glad we did! Firstly the service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing and the owner made a point of coming over and introducing himself. He also checked in with us occasionally just to make sure everything was to our satisfaction....which it was. Our meal met all of our expectations and we have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenh1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing