We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time and it was so good than the first time.”
Review of La Cueva Del Mar

La Cueva Del Mar
Ranked #34 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“3rd time and it was so good than the first time.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Since I don't live at San Juan and I was near I took my father for dinner so he can try the restaurant. Since the restaurant is getting popular in San Juan because of the prices is was pack for a Saturday 5PM afternoon, so we wait a little bit longer than usual and the people keep arriving. For me it was ok, having a cheap local bear and wait, for our food. But when the food arrived it was so fresh and great. My Father order a grouper the one he selected from the display (showcase) they have for the seafood \. I order a shrimp soup (Asopao) at the end I was so full, that I wasn't able to breath, so the portions are great for the price. I will come back and recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akaninakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    328
    67
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was some of the freshest fish we had on our visit to san juan!! Great food and bette service!! We will be back for sure!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrentJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“really fresh fish”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Everything you eat is so fresh you can't belive, fish is not "fishy" at all. I loved the restaurant in Loiza street, but now I whent to their new restaurant in Old San Juan and it is really good. Our server was Ana and she pointed out all the really good choices. She even show us the red snapers so we could choose the size we wanted .The quality of the food was excelent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caryfajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recommended by our taxi driver, this place did not disappoint. Perfectly cooked conch, octopus and squid. Best meal of the trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusanB762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best! ”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I try to make it in at least once a week! Get the crema de yautia, its so good you'll wish it would never end. Every plate I've had thus far has been nothing short of incredible. I plan on working through the entire menu. The bar has a few single malts too, which is hard to find in "local" restaurants. Definitely my favorite restaurant in San Juan.

Helpful?
Thank Shan3Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Del Mar also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Cueva Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing