We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique with amazing hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at O:live recently (July 2014). We loved it!!! Attention to detail is an understatement when it comes to this beautiful and quaint boutique hotel....from the tasteful decor and ambiance, to little touches like desert waiting for you at your bedside...they really try to think of everything to make this an enjoyable and memorable stay.
We truly cannot say enough about the staff at O:live. They are all so polite, warm, and attentive. Each and every person made us feel welcome, and they are all very kind and helpful. They definitely go out of their way to help with anything and everything. For example, we were trying to book flights to the island of Culebra. They researched all our options and have us tips and information. They even called the airline directly for us to confirm everything shortly before our flight (we didn't even ask for them to do this, but it was much appreciated). A special thank you to Francesca, Astrid, and Jose for all their help. But again, all of the staff is wonderful!

The location is great, as you are a 1 minute walk to beautiful Condado beach, as well as many shops and restaurants. The roof top is gorgeous and has a nice view... Very relaxing. The rooms are cozy with soft linens and towels/robes. The breakfast has a variety of fruits, breads, yoghurt, cereal, etc....perfect start to the day.

One last thing I would like to mention...we booked our room through a 3rd party site, which had made an error. Without hesitation, at check-in, Francesca immediately offered to honor the mistake. This was very professional and classy, and again we appreciate how O:live goes out of the way to make everything smooth, pleasant, and enjoyable.

Thank you O:live Boutique Hotel!! Lovely stay. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveExperience, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Mona! It so nice to hear from you! We are so happy you had a great time at Olive! You and your husband were such wonderful guests. It is so nice to hear you liked all of the hotel areas. We put a lot of work on Olive so that our guests enjoy every single detail, no matter how small it is. Like I am sure know now, our rooftop is the perfect way to start a relaxing morning as wells to have a perfect and romantic end of the day! We are so happy you also had a great time at Culebra! Flamenco beach is listed as one of the 10 most beautiful beaches of the world so we had to make sure you made it there before leaving! Our front desk staff sends you both lots hugs and we hope to have you sometime in the future as our guests once again! Take care!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 845 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is cute but had issues with the following:
The bed linen was stained in mutpli rooms.
The pool was dirty for my entire 10 day stay.
Shower leaked water on floor
View from Lagoon room not as nice as advertised

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucklo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveExperience, Front Office Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Bonjour Bucklo 81!

Thank you for taking of your time to write about your recent stay at O:live Boutique Hotel.

We are well aware that this review is being written due to your friend's claim that her car was allegedly damaged during valet parking service.

Please be informed that we coordinated an appointment with her immediately after she called and showed her all the footage of the cameras demonstrating that no damage was caused to her car while at olive. We can definitely send the security report to you.

However; we are puzzled because the issues that you mentioned were not addressed during all of your extended stay requests. It seemed like you were 100% pleased.

Some of the points you raised:
Being a Boutique hotel and as we advertise in our website, our rooms are small compared to big resorts. We have four different styles all going from 220 to 247 square feet. Based on your description you booked a Mediterrenean Style Room that does feature an open bathroom layout as advertised and a standard lagoon view. Meaning not a full front view.

All our bedrooms and suites are cleaned thoroughly at least once daily (at least twice when occupied) and are checked twice by management prior to a guest's arrival. Hence, I am puzzled as to how the room seen to have unclean sheets. I've passed on your comments to our Housekeeping supervisor to assure this issue is not overlooked.

The other issues mentioned have been addressed as well. If you would like to discuss any of this with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest wishes
Franchesca Martin
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Don't really know what you can improve. I understand you won the 2013 award. Fantastic mansion in beatiful location! All staff was kind and gentle. Fast promptness was an add of value to the residence

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurizio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveExperience, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you so much for this beautiful review! It is so sweet that you say you can't find anything for us to improve! This is the exact reaction we want to create in all of the guests that stay in our boutique property! And the fact that that is exactly what you think, lets us know that the O:live staff is doing the right job! We truly hope you get a chance to stay at O:live a second and third time! Take care!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very charming hotel in an excellent part of San Juan. The staff goes above and beyond and the rooftop patio is INCREDIBLE! It has the charm of a bed and breakfast but the upscale qualities of a fabulous boutique hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkubiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveExperience, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Charming is the exact word we want our guests to think off when they stay at O:live from the moment they arrive! Thank you so much for this review! We are truly happy that you loved our rooftop as well! And hopefully, in the near future, we get to have you a second and third time at O:live!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay at O:live in PR. I will just start with how amazingly peaceful and beautiful O:live staff and the hotel were. Upon arrival, we were greeted by name and checked in. We arrived really early so our room was not ready. We decided to leave our luggage and take the Bacardi Tour. The super sweet ladies in the front desk gave us specific directions and we went off. That tour is a MUST. The free drinks make is even better. The rest of our stay was filled with beach, drinks and yummy food. Breakfast at O:live is included and very fresh and tasty. Each morning there was an assortment of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, fruit, yogurt, granola etc. The coffee was wonderful. The walk to the beach was only about 2 minutes away. The rooms are cozy but super beautiful. Yes, the showers are glass but hubby and i enjoyed it! The location of the hotel is wonderful. In the morning, we would go for a run and enjoy the beautiful views. The rooftop is beautiful but there was a bunch of mosquitoes. The nice bartender gave me off spray and the drinking continued. We visited old San Juan and took a quick cab ride to eat at El Jibarrito, We also enjoyed dinner at Pikayo (walking distance from O:live) which was fabulous and pricey. One night there was a great Jazz Festival one block away. We got drinks and cozied up and enjoyed the music on the beach. Overall, wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rvc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at O:live! We always do our best to ensure that our guests feel at home. It was our pleasure giving you all the information you needed about the tours. It is very important that our guests know about all the options that they have in this area of Puerto Rico. Our housekeeping department also does its best to keep everything clean and in order, so thanks for pointing it out. Once again, it was our pleasure having you in our hotel and we can't wait to have you one more time on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

There was no bathroom door at all. I am used to the shower being open to the room, but I have never seen a set-up in which the toilet was open to the room. I thought that was a very strange choice for a romantic boutique hotel. I am closer to my fiance than anyone in the world, but I do NOT want to do my business in front of him. We had to take turns leaving the room so the other person could pee! We only stayed one night, but had we stayed longer, this would have been a real issue.

The shower head was super fancy with lots of different spouts, but there did not seem to be any hot water at all.

The room was very nice otherwise - high end and thoughtful decor, etc. The location is quite close to the beach and quite close to bars that were still hopping when we left for the airport at 4am (a plus or minus, depending on your perspective).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dantee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Bonjour Dante!
We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy the bathroom concept of your room. However, we are happy to let you know that we are working on it and by August, all rooms will have an enclosed bathroom with doors dividing the area from the rest of the room. We hope this situation did not affect the chances of you staying again in the near future at O:live! Once again, thank you so much for your review and for staying at O:live Boutique Hotel! Have a great day!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Me and my wife stayed this june for just 1 night but we were very pleased with the service and the overall experience. The Roof top terrace is perfect for having a drink just before going to bed. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coqui88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Greetings! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay! Wish you could have stayed longer though! As you said, our rooftop terrace is one of the best elements of our hotel with the rooftop bar, the plunge pool, the massage area and the lounge area with the amazing view to the Condado Lagoon. It is true, it is the best way to end a day in the most relaxing way! We hope to have you again at O:live, but next time for more than one night! Have a great day and hope to see you soon!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.5 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
971 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
891 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Boutique Hotel

Address: 55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $318 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the ‘art de vivre’ and the diversity of the Mediterranean culture, O:live Boutique Hotel presents a unique style of relaxed luxury and intimacy. Its prime Condado location, exclusive amenities and artistique atmosphère makes this charming boutique hotel part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing