We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No door between room and toilet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olive Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

There was no bathroom door at all. I am used to the shower being open to the room, but I have never seen a set-up in which the toilet was open to the room. I thought that was a very strange choice for a romantic boutique hotel. I am closer to my fiance than anyone in the world, but I do NOT want to do my business in front of him. We had to take turns leaving the room so the other person could pee! We only stayed one night, but had we stayed longer, this would have been a real issue.

The shower head was super fancy with lots of different spouts, but there did not seem to be any hot water at all.

The room was very nice otherwise - high end and thoughtful decor, etc. The location is quite close to the beach and quite close to bars that were still hopping when we left for the airport at 4am (a plus or minus, depending on your perspective).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dantee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Bonjour Dante!
We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy the bathroom concept of your room. However, we are happy to let you know that we are working on it and by August, all rooms will have an enclosed bathroom with doors dividing the area from the rest of the room. We hope this situation did not affect the chances of you staying again in the near future at O:live! Once again, thank you so much for your review and for staying at O:live Boutique Hotel! Have a great day!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 859 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Me and my wife stayed this june for just 1 night but we were very pleased with the service and the overall experience. The Roof top terrace is perfect for having a drink just before going to bed. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coqui88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Desk Agent at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Greetings! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay! Wish you could have stayed longer though! As you said, our rooftop terrace is one of the best elements of our hotel with the rooftop bar, the plunge pool, the massage area and the lounge area with the amazing view to the Condado Lagoon. It is true, it is the best way to end a day in the most relaxing way! We hope to have you again at O:live, but next time for more than one night! Have a great day and hope to see you soon!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was indeed please with the superb hospitality and professionalism of the staff at the front desk.. Francesca one of the many who went out of her way to assist us in any inquiries that we had or to suggest the best sight seen places in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andres G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Office Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank You for staying with us at O:live Boutique Hotel, we truly pride in given amazing service to all of our guest. I am really happy you enjoyed all of my recommendations. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest wishes
Franchesca Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

LOVED the aesthetic of the Olive! Restful, peaceful and yet a short walk to the beach. Surrounded by fantastic restaurants and shopping. Great rooftop views overlooking the lagoon. We felt like VIPs. I can't wait to go back and have been telling all my friends you HAVE to stay at the Olive Boutique!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Office Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

I am so thrilled you had such an amazing time, I definitely agree we are in a great area, filled with stores like Gucci, LV and local designer like Nono Maldonado. It fills us up with joy to know that you had such a great time and received great care from all the staff. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again at O:live.

Warmest wishes
Franchesca Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked The O:Live Boutique Hotel for our daughter’s wedding and their guests for 2 nights. It was intimate, yet sophisticated; the rooms very comfortable; the food delicious. The hotel made for an attractive backdrop with European-styled appointments throughout for great photo opps. Every detail of our stay was perfect thanks to the owners and staff. Loisse, Amanda, and Francesca were great to work with virtually in the months up to the wedding and even more so when we arrived onsite. The cleaning staff was personable, readily available, and kept the place immaculate. The continental Breakfast was a great way to start each day. The wedding was beautiful with the views of the sunset over the water from the rooftop venue. Dinner was excellent. We had the short ribs and tilapia. Nice wines and drinks. We had The O;Live create a wonderful dessert table with an additional small wonderfully moist cake the staff was able to order for the bride and groom to cut. We couldn’t have asked for more.

When our family and friends checked in at all hours the day before the wedding, the staff made sure everyone was comfortable and we were able to have several appetizer plates created at the last minute for people to gather and visit on the rooftop before the rehearsal. It allowed us all to catch up in a relaxed setting since we had traveled long distances.

The hotel is accessible for touring Old San Juan (we walked all the way back to the hotel from the National Park forts to the hotel, a good hike but doable. Taxis are an easier option, of course.)

Thank you, Hotel O:Live for making everything perfect for our daughter’s memorable wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Office Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Bonjour Ellen!

We are so happy to hear you had such an amazing time with us. The wedding was truly beautiful, I know for a fact the entire staff was raving with the simplicity and beauty of the entire event. Amanda, Loisse and myself loved taking care of your family and making sure you had everything you needed. When you come back to San Juan we hope to see you again.

Best Wishes
Franchesca Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is what a boutique hotel should be. Quaint, upscale, charming, classy and convenient. It was a welcome change from the larger, busy hotel chains. Upon arrival we were greated by Francesca who was lovely and helpful the entire stay. We stayed for 5 days over Christmas. The rooms are all called "suites" but do not be deceived - they are all VERY VERY COZY. Although clean and well maintained, the rooms are quite small, requiring a special level of intimacy between you and whomever you are staying with.

Pros:

Location: Right in Condado near everything - the beach, restaurants, larger hotels with bars etc.

Decorations/design: The hotel is beautifully decorated and the map/design is superb. The rooftop lounge area is lovely with a full bar, plenty of chairs/pillows/couches and separate bathroom area.

OLIVIA: At this restaurant I had one of the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. It was Christmas night and we were the only ones in the restaurant. The head chef was there with an assistant and we were hand-catered a fantastic meal. If you eat there, get the caprese (mozz/tomato). I also had a marvelously silky filet minion perfectly cooked and seasoned with a side of homemade truffle potatoes. The chocolate soufflé was insane. Service was on point. They also had a pretty decent breakfast every morning. Try the Puerto Rican coffee with warm milk. Superb.

Concierge: Excellent service by all staff members. Never waited more than 10 min for a cab and got some great recommendations on things to do and places to try within walking distance.

Extras: Chocolates/treats by your bed at night, bottled water/iced tea/snacks in the lobby throughout the day.


Cons:

There is NO BATHROOM DOOR. You can literally see into the bathroom, no foggy windows or anything. If you are not comfortable being with your roommate doing your *bathroom business* as I wasn't, you have to go downstairs to use the lobby bathrooms each time.

Noise: It is nestled right in the middle of several buildings and you can hear the garbage trucks in the early am. Remember, this is not a secluded beach hotel by any means.

Pool: Despite lovely pictures on the website, this is actually a large bathtub. It is a dip-only pool so just know that before you go in and you're good.


I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, if I had my own room!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the biggest "suite". Views of the lagoon are also just 'ok'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveExperience, Public Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Thank you so much for this review! We definitely like it when our guests let us know everything they think about the O:live experience! Since you stayed here, lots of things have changed in an extremely positive way. Starting with the size of the rooms. Now, all of our rooms have indoors and outdoors Verandas, expanding the size of all rooms. It's like having your own private Mediterranean villa! Some of the bigger ones even have jacuzzis in their Veranda! Second change, the bathrooms! All the bathrooms are now enclosed! Which means that the shy don't have anything to worry about anymore! The rooftop remains the same, with our great rooftop bar, the lounge area and the lovely plunge pool in which you can sit and relax while zipping on a good sangria with the amazing view to the lagoon! We definitely want you to come back so you can see all the changes and have the premium O:live experience with the Veranda rooms! Take care and make sure to come back in your next visit to Puerto Rico, even if it's just to say hi!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Brand Manager
O:live Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon, in May, and we loved it. This is the nicest hotel, way better than any resort. The staff was so polite and attentive. They booked all of our excursions for us, made sure that our car was parked safely, and even made coffee for us every morning. I am suggesting this hotel to every friend and family member who travels to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Make sure you are comfortable using the bathroom without a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marymlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolo7022, Front Desk Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi there! We are so glad you had a great time at O:live with your husband but we are even more excited that you picked us for your honeymoon! Such a memorable moment! The romantic and intimate ambiance of our hotel is perfect for couples looking for a romantic getaway. One of our best attributes like you said, would be our attentive staff. We always go out of our way to make sure that our guests are happy and that everything is taken care of for them. You are on vacation so we basically don't want our guests to move a finger! Thank you so much for recommending us to all of your friends and family! We truly appreciate it! We can't wait to have you again at O:live in the near future! Have a great day!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.5 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#11 of 48 in San Juan
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.6 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Boutique Hotel

Address: 55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $280 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the ‘art de vivre’ and the diversity of the Mediterranean culture, O:live Boutique Hotel presents a unique style of relaxed luxury and intimacy. Its prime Condado location, exclusive amenities and artistique atmosphère makes this charming boutique hotel part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing