We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting newcomer”
Review of Oliva Dieta Mediterranea - CLOSED

Oliva Dieta Mediterranea
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ashford Ave
Description: Inspired in the trilogy of the Mediterranean diet (bread, wine and olive oil), O:liva is the mastered by the recognized chef Nicolas Gomez. The executive chef has created a menu that unites flavors, recipes and experiences from towns in the Mediterranean border such as Spain, France, Italy and Morocco. Olive Oil, known as the nectar of the Mediterranean, plays one of the main characters in the scene together with rich traditions and diverse landscapes. O:liva is presented as an art form that, like wine, has multiple varieties, flavors and its own trade secrets.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exciting newcomer”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited O:liva last night (Saturday) during their prime time dinner hour. The place was packed with two large parties, one of over 20 people, and all 4 smaller tables were full as well. We were immediately struck by the lovely decor, and the welcoming staff. We had to wait a few minutes for our table, but we didn't mind at all because it gave us a chance to take in the space, which is quaint, romantic, and definitely gives a sense of the Mediterranean.

We started our meal with their homemade bread with olive oil, which was spectacular, and set the stage for a delicious meal. We ordered the meatballs and squid appetizers, followed by the gnocchi and the lamb with couscous. Everything was sublime, delicious, and perfectly executed.

I didn't order dessert because I was too full, but I wish I had tried the chocolate cake. Also, I asked the waiter to bring me a non-fruity white wine, and he delivered to perfection. The wine was great, the service attentive, and we had a wonderful experience. Will definitely return and add to our date night rotation!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdjcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Oliva Dieta Mediterranea, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Yes, indeed! Thank you for your wonderful comments, I will let the staff know. It is important for us that even if we had a busy night, we still delivered on our values: extraordinary service, unique ambiance and magnificent food.

I am sure we will see you soon!

Loisse Herger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    14
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Beatifull place, great location.
Service was impecable ! Miurca at the hostess stand was very helpful during the reservation process.
Francheska, our bartender was very attentive.
Our waiter Francisco was very knowledgeable of the menu and knew when to come to the table and when to give us some time to relax and enjoy the dinner.
Definitely will recommend this place to others and certainly we will be back !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Extraordinary!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Food excellent! Service was excellent! Decoration is beautiful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meraide R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great dinner in a great location.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Last saturday i had the greatest experience. It all sarted with the beautiful location O:live Boutique. The hotel is very elegant and homey. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was excellent. I ate the tajine with couscous and it was the best thing i ate in my visit to Puerto Rico. I definitely will come back in my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WCrespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Pizazz no Substance”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place is all show. It started with the entrance and Hostess. Very nice not over done, but then the burnt menus and wine list. I should have been suspicious over the wine list. Very short with not real interesting names and prices too high. The most inexpensive reds and whites, they were out of?? The service was great, waiters attentive and knew the patter. UNFORTUNATELY the kitchen was just not there. Food was described well and really bland or poorly done. If you want the show with no substance this is the place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oliva Dieta Mediterranea, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Sir, the quality of being exciting or attractive (pizzazz) is by itself a big accomplishment in the equation of dinning out, SO THANK YOU! Let me assure you that O:liva is not a show...it's an overall experience that UNFORTUNATELY was not appreciated in your visit.
You mentioned that the host greeted you courteously. This was not a show without substance…we call it offering our clients a great first impression! You mentioned that the waiter explained very well the specifics on the menu. This is not a show w/out substance; we call it having excellent and trained staffs that are the voice of the chef. The so called burned menus…it’s simply being unique and artsy.
As for the food, as you can see in our other reviews, the menu is rated excellent by 99% of the reviewers but we understand that not everyone has a palate that appreciates the culinary art of dining at a globally influenced restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliva Dieta Mediterranea also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing