We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
Review of Plaza las Americas

Plaza las Americas
Ranked #14 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Plaza las Americas is the largest shopping mall in the Caribbean. It contains more than 300 stores, restaurants, a food court, and a cineplex offering first-run movies in English and Spanish.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This mall was unbelievable. It was 3 stories and had over 300 stores. We just happened to be there around Christmas and they had an exhibit in the center of the mall of dropping fake snow. The kids were absolutely wild over the falling snow. Very nice shopping.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    148
    59
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shop til you drop!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have to say I wasn't too keen on another shopping plaza but this one had really good shops and deals. We ended up spending a couple of hours here going through all the great deals they had on at the time, by far much cheaper then the states!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Naaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Average at best, really... Great for P.R. standards.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Returned from my third vacation in Puerto Rico a few days back and here's the skinny on this place:
-It is large, three floors, but if this is what impresses you, then you haven't traveled much. The truth is the mall is filled with lots of food places, service type providers, a movie theater, and local mom & pop shops in order to complement regularly known stores. Very large anchor stores, which made me think this is where clearance merchandise was sent (Macy's, JCPenney, and Sears...ehhh). Of the three, we spent more time in Macy's.
-Parking is a nightmare!!! We've been there in the Spring, Summer, and Fall/Winter and always find the same issue (our luck, I guess). Walking a close to 1/2 mile to and from our car isn't what we had in mind (kids, stroller, and bags).
-Seems people just go to hang out. It is warm in Puerto Rico and their A/C is free :)
Very typical, nothing out of this world, just large in size. This will make it have it's average/good and horrible points. We've visited because it is the closest mall to my husbands corp. office, nothing more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaPlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Mall to visit while in San Juan”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Take a whole day to visit this Mall. Over three hundred stores and growing. Something for everyone. Plenty of places to shop, eat or just people watch. However, I do not recommend renting a car or driving to this mall. Pay the extra money and rent a cab, it's well worth the time and your safety for a stress free day. This is the most popular mall for tourist and the local community.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All in One”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

They really have a lot to offer. Fountains inside are great. I went there with friends and it is a really nice place to hangout. A lot of food choices too in the food court. They have Chinese, Italian, Mexican and a lot more varieties of food to choose from. :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza las Americas also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Plaza las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing