We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

My friends and I had the WORST TIME at this hotel. Let me repeat myself...MY FRIENDS AND I HAD THE WORST TIME!!! I booked a room with a balcony, phone, fridge, and tv. The TV was the only thing which worked, the balcony was a false balcony, the fridge...didnt exist, and the phone didnt work. Hot water...didnt exist either, nor did the wi-fi. The staff didnt seem to care about our needs at all, but did offer us to move to another room so we could have a fridge, only this room didnt have a phone. The staff showed us how to break into our own rooms from the outside, and moved our gear to a new room without our permission. Its EXTREMELY easy to hear from your room everything that is yelled outside, and whoever drives by. The only positive thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyePete77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    338
    199
    80
    74
See reviews for
125
436
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St-lambert
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Hello, stayed at this hotel one night prior my cruise, wich was leaving for Old San Juan, and 3 nights after. Room good, but no windows except the suites. Just that if you come in during the weekend by taxi, well assume a long ride, because traffic in Old San Juan is no fun. maybe best to get off near the pear, and walk to the hotel, trust me , my cab driver was not very happy. For a affordable hotel in Old San Juan, it is a good choice

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb_enfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILVELISSE, Assistant Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, April 19, 2009
We do apreciate your review of the hotel. You are right about the traffic and its always better if you come into san juan before 6:00pm and after 9:00am. I think the best ammenitie of the hotel its the location because, it is close to everything and San Juan is great walking city. There is always something to do. Hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on the night before our cruise took off from Port. This hotel provided everything we wanted -- it was within a 10-minute (all down-hill) walk to the Carnival Cruise Line pier, it was affordable and right in middle of Old San Juan's historic locations which meant you could easily walk to the various sites or take the free trolley.

The rooms were clean and comfortably furnished. Breakfast was a no-frills continental breakfast. The staff was wicked friendly.

We stayed in one of the rooms without a window . . . which meant it was extremely quiet. Even though there was plenty of folks out on the Plaza we didn't hear a thing and slept quite soundly after our long plane trip.

The absolute best part of this hotel is its proximity to the fortresses, pier and the old world architecture of Old San Juan.

Another plus for would-be cruisers is that the hotel secured our luggage after check out . . . which meant we could check out, spend some time touring Old San Juan and then return several hours later to collect our bags and head to the pier to embark on the ship.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefighterjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILVELISSE, Assistant Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, April 19, 2009
Thank You for taking you time and write a review. I do agree we have a fantastic location to see the historical buildings and it is close to the piers! An interesting fact of the hotel and the historical buildings is that our hotel has more than 300 years and a 60 year old elevator. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed one night on our way to Guanica. We had an impossible time trying to find it as we asked people where the Howard Johnson's was. We had a rental car and finally parked it in a parking garage, which was very cheap. We walked for a long time and people were very friendly, but no one knew what we were talking about even when we showed them a map. So ask about the Plaza de Armas-then everyone knows where that is. We got there very late at night and the night manager was fabulous. We stayed up for a couple of hours and wished that we could have stayed up longer as we loved sitting on the Plaza watching all of the action. There was a wonderful coffee kiosk right on the Plaza. The only problem I had was that the room had no windows, and I was totally claustrophobic. The breakfast was adequate and I took it and ate out on the Plaza. We were anxious to get going to Guanica, but I wish that we had explored Old San Juan more as it is fascinating. The traffic from the airport to Old San Juan was a nightmare, but we were there on Valentine's night as well as a holiday-President's Day. The hotel is a great location if you don't mind a hotel with no windows.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

This HoJo is realistically a 2 star property, based on room quality and decorum. I was quite happy for what we paid and what we got. I was realistic in what I expected going to a HoJo in Puerto Rico though. We got a Kind bed "suite" (I assume is probably just a bigger room) which had doors and balcony that opened onto the main road below. Beware though that while we didn't have problems sleeping with all the noise (we were wearing ear plugs), friends of ours only slept for about 2hrs b/c of the noise. There was some crazy guy outside having a fit with himself all night long. The hotel is in a great location, we walked all around no problems to the forts and the cruise pier we were leaving out of was @ 10min walk away. We chose to get a cab @12usd though rather than dragging our luggage all around the cobblestone streets. Old San Juan is a beautiful area and I just wish we had more time there to explore. The continental breakfast is just that, toast and jam (no pb), 2 cereal choices, danishes, coffee and juice. Great restaurants in the area, there's one a few blocks away that invented the pina coloda...yum! Also great shopping as for name brands etc... Oh and they say the elevator is small...it is extremely small. You can probably fit 4 adults in it and that's it. It was faster to take the small staircase up to the third floor while walking very slowly than the elevator:) All part of the charm though!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms need to be updated
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinthesunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before our cruise left port. We loved how historic it is. The rooms are modest in size, but who in staying in Old San Juan to sit in their room?? It is located in the heart of all the Old San Juan nightlife, shopping and historic architecture. We walked to both of the historic forts, all our street wandering to view historic buildings and could not have had a better time. The shower had plenty of hot water for all four of us (2 people in 2 rooms), no bugs, really no complaints about property at all. We did take the stairs up the 4 flights to our room after riding elevator to take suitcases up the first time. The elevator is a historic one and a bit small--but soooooo cool. It is slow based on fact they can't replace it with modern one according to historic building codes. But it was fun the few times we took it--just took a bit longer than walking the stairs. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions or recommendations. We all would stay in this hotel again--can't wait to go back and enjoy Old San Juan again sometime.

  • Liked — Fabulous location
  • Disliked — stairs were best way to get to room--but needed the excersize anyways
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

This is a beautiful restored hotel in OSJ right on a square. It's architecture is fabulous and the tile work is awesome. It is close to everything and is right by a trolly stop if needed. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. The continental breakfast is good and so is the coffee! They will also hold your bags after checkout if you want to explore some more before your flight or cruise.

  • Liked — The historic oldness of the place
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txwildflower2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILVELISSE, ASSISTANT MANAGER at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2009
Im glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Our interior bedrooms in fact dont have windows because this is a colonial structure and there are buildings one next to the other. The hotel is a historical building and it is protected by the cultural Institute. Hundreads of years ago it used to be Barracks.
In the other hand, we do have beautiful suites with balconies facing to the Plaza De Armas.You can contact us over the phone for more information on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing