We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I just returned from my first trip to Old San Juan and fell in love with the city! Reminded very much of my birth city in Cuba. The hotel staff were great, especially Greisha who made me feel right at home! Thank you again Greisha!
The room was clean and quiet. The hotel is located near restaurants, plazas, churches and best of all shopping! The only downside was the weather, as it rained during most of my stay. Now I'll have an excuse to return and I will of course be staying at Hotel Plaza de Armas again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2014Aleida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    340
    200
    81
    76
See reviews for
129
440
127
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Is helpfully if you want to walk and explore the Old San Juan because is practically in the center of all.Is Near to restaurant,pharmacy and Historic places.Is Very Clean and The Person of service are Very Nice.Is An Economic Hotel and the amenitys are good.I liked and i would like to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We went to Puerto Rico for our anniversary and this hotel was perfect. This Hotel is located in the heart of the old city at the Plaza De Armas. Great for walking around and doing some sightseeing, and shopping, and the plaza was a great place to relax and have a coffee and a mayorca, a local sweet treat. We had an interior room that was clean and comfortable which fit our needs perfectly. The staff was friendly and helpful and even gave us advise on places to eat and helped with a rental car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel only for two (2) nights. The room was clean and spacious. The staff and the front desk agent Sheyla where very friendly and helpful. At check in the Manager was there and he went out of his way to let us check in early without any trouble. The only downside was he WI-Fi connection, it did not reach our room on the 3th floor but they were working on improving this service. We had no problem receiving a signal in the Lobby. All in all we liked our stay at the Hotel and if I visit Old San Juan again I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room without the window, this way there is less noise from the Street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The employees were friendly and helpful. The room wa small but clean and the bed was comfortable. Good deal for the price. In the heart of Old San Juan everything is within a walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Rnmdavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is located across from the city hall in Old San Juan. Thus the location is quite convenient; and everything is within walking distance. The hotel property is of some historical significance, as it is in the historic area.

I stayed in one of the interior rooms, thus, it has no windows; only an interior patio, but you have to step outside of it to see it. The few rooms that face the street have a better view, but also a great deal of noise that filters in. One of the issues that I found amusing is that rooms have no telephones. I assume that it is due to the property's age. However, in my room I had free Wi-Fi access with excellent upload and download speed.

However, the best part of the hotel, by far, is the staff. Greisha and the manager were extremely friendly, helpful and very caring.

In sum, it is a fantastic value, in an excellent location with an awesome staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms with twin beds. They are not suitable for adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grouparroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The location is excellent for shopping and sightseeing. However wifi should be made available in the rooms. The experience was a great mix of the architecture of Old San Juan and modern housing. A restaurant would be a useful addition to the service provided

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 47 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing