We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The employees were friendly and helpful. The room wa small but clean and the bed was comfortable. Good deal for the price. In the heart of Old San Juan everything is within a walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Rnmdavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    338
    198
    80
    74
See reviews for
125
436
124
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is located across from the city hall in Old San Juan. Thus the location is quite convenient; and everything is within walking distance. The hotel property is of some historical significance, as it is in the historic area.

I stayed in one of the interior rooms, thus, it has no windows; only an interior patio, but you have to step outside of it to see it. The few rooms that face the street have a better view, but also a great deal of noise that filters in. One of the issues that I found amusing is that rooms have no telephones. I assume that it is due to the property's age. However, in my room I had free Wi-Fi access with excellent upload and download speed.

However, the best part of the hotel, by far, is the staff. Greisha and the manager were extremely friendly, helpful and very caring.

In sum, it is a fantastic value, in an excellent location with an awesome staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms with twin beds. They are not suitable for adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grouparroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The location is excellent for shopping and sightseeing. However wifi should be made available in the rooms. The experience was a great mix of the architecture of Old San Juan and modern housing. A restaurant would be a useful addition to the service provided

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Plaza De Armas three nights. I had a single room without a window. I was pleasantly surprised how comfortable and quiet the room was during my three day stay. I got plenty of uninterrupted rest. The staff was friendly but the third shift attendant was especially knowledgable and helpful. The location is absolutely the best in terms of exploring Old San Juan. The hotel is right in the middle of all that is to be seen in Old San Juan. You will not need a taxi unless you want to go outside of Old San Juan.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank vernon913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2014

In old town closed to all places. nice friemdly and helpfull staff. Clean place.need to have better wifi and tv in room has some problems. Slow elevator .better restaurant out side the hotel.Good for just have coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I love everything about this hotel, and especially the people.
My favorite people are the ones who say, "maybe there is something I can do." Their generosity extends beyond their responsibilities, their job, their obligations, to some recess of their conscience that wants to be a better person or at least make the world a better place. When you step into Hotel Plaza de Armas, in Old San Juan, you will find such a person behind the desk. He may be the manager, Luis Garzon, or he may be one of Luis' fastidious employees. You’ll find generosity, kindness, friendliness, and a sense of humor.

There was a tiny problem with our room, of no one's fault – simply circumstance - when we arrived, and Luis took it to heart. We'd requested a rollaway bed, knowing they were first come-first served, and he'd just issued the last to a family with smaller children. He did everything in his power to remedy it, and although the hotel was fully booked, he realized that he could switch us with another guest who would not be arriving until the next day because of a change. I have so much respect and admiration for a person who looks beyond what is in front of him to figure out how to change what he sees. If I was at a chain hotel, the desk clerk probably would have said that there was nothing he could do. Our new room was comfortable, clean, and included a TV, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. We had a lovely balcony and enjoyed watching the Saturday night action in the plaza.

Once we settled the room, Luis began working on my dinner plans, giving me a hand-written coupon for a restaurant around the corner that had a flamenco show. "Hurry," he said, "the show starts soon!"

Later in the evening, after a lovely evening of dinner & entertainment, I was looking for a place to plug in laptop in the lobby. The young man behind the counter walked me around their cozy and fun lobby, a series of three divided spaces with lots of funky and comfortable chairs and coffee tables, and showed me all the places I could plug in, even if it meant moving the furniture. Again, going above and beyond his obligations as a desk clerk.

In the morning, I came down at 7:00 AM hoping for coffee and a place to print boarding passes. The young man behind the counter said the coffee shop wasn't open yet, but he would go in and ask them to start the coffee for me. (No one in San Juan is up at 7AM on a Sunday. Remember that, state-siders) He printed my passes and helped me navigate my transportation for the day. Again, going above and beyond!

Travelers, don’t stay at a big hotel that advertises a business center and bar and 24-hour taxi service. I have made that mistake and was not impressed. At Hotel Plaza De Armas you will get personal service, including printing tickets, helping with directions, and 24-hour taxi service. It's all a part of what they do, without the pretense. What is more, you’ll feel like you just stayed with an old friend, someone who sees you and cares about you. You’ll feel like a part of the San Juan culture in this old cozy building like nothing I’ve ever seen in the states.

I could go on to describe the charming art deco lobby and old-school tiny wooden elevator, but, Luis, you had me at hello!

For the first time in my life, I sought out my host at the end of our stay to say, “Thank you, for everything. The room change, the restaurant recommendation and coupon, the warm reception, the solicitous care during our stay.” I felt Luis did it all just for me, as if I were his favorite guest of all time. But that is probably not true. I would bet that Luis makes every guest feel this way. So if you are going to Old San Juan, stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vermont_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
A million thanks it's not enough Vermont_Jo to express our gratitude to your amazing comment about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas.

All of our staff are really delighted for your opinion about us and happy because our mission is to give every person who arrives here a great service.

We really enjoy reading your expressions and certainly your comment shows a great satisfaction from your side and tells how our staff makes feel our guests. Our connection and empathy is very important and part of our great policy service. We want our guests to feel comfortable, relaxed and at home.

You will be always more than welcome and we definitely look forward to connecting with you again.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at plazahj@gmail.com so I can assist you with any future reservations.

You will be always more than welcome and we definitely look forward to connecting with you again.

As always we want that every person arrives as our guest and leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel itself was fine, we just made the mistake to book a room with window.
The street is pretty noisy at night by itself. But to top it off, they were doing some roadwork on Calle Fortalezza, so all evening and all night there was jack hammering and truck noise.

On top of that: although this is a non smoking hotel, some folks were smoking pot and that stench hung all over the third floor.

So we went to the reception and they handled it EXCELLENT.
Just moved us to an interior room on the first floor and the rest of the night was GREAT.
We could've saved us some bucks by booking the interior room from the getgo, oh well, you learn.

Parking is impossible, you have to park at the La Puntilla Parking Lot down at Paseo de la Princesa, about 5 minutes away. It's closed at night, but $6.20 from 4pm to 9am isn't too bad.

After all, it's Old San Juan, very touristy and with 3 cruise ships in town by morning- RUN!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, save some bucks and take an inside room. It's not claustrophobic at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing