We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was very pleased with this little hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I got the smallest room possible, with no window, but it was adequate, even cozy. The bathroom was clean and bright, the bed comfortable. It is right in the middle of Old San Juan, with stunning views of the bay just down the street on a parapet, and a supermercado around the corner. You can't go wrong if you're looking for clean, quiet accomodation at this budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dobrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 961 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We are just checking out of this hotel in which we stayed for a couple of nights. Is a nice simple lodging in the middle of Old San Juan where 500 years of history surround you.
There aren't many hotels in Old San Juan. And this the most affordable one.
Don't expect anything fancy, just the basic. A bed, a shower and an old tv set with plenty of channels to watch. Through Direct TV.
The best features of this hotel are its location and its friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here one night after getting off the cruise ship. It is a wonderful, small hotel right on the square. Excellent location for seeing the historic sights in old town san juan, nice restaurants nearby ( however avoid the wendy's it was a nightmare) pleasant very helpful staff, easy access to shopping and just hanging out on the square in the evening. I slept well. Our room was an inside room with no windows but it did not matter, there was a transom over the door that let in fresh air from the main hallway. The taxis gather across the street in the morning so no trouble getting one to go to the airport. It is not "modern" so if that is what you expect this is not it. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Cimjid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better location, right in the center of Old San Juan. Within walking distance of all attractions. The staff were excellent and everyone spoke English. A fabulous gift shop right across the street with handmade crafts made in Puerto Rico.
The room was adequate but needs a facelift. Having no windows makes the rooms feel dark, even though there is a window panel above the door. A fresh coat of paint on the walls is definitely needed. For the money we spent, I would have expected a nicer bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in early May. The room was very large and had a balcony that overlooked the plaza--great for people-watching and enjoying the street musicians. The building is old but well kept, and the desk staff are very helpful and seem proud to work there.
Small deficiencies: the elevator is small and slow, the room had a drip coffeemaker but no coffee, and the pastry shop in the lobby--plan B for morning coffee--was staffed by only one person who was overwhelmed by the number of patrons. We gave up and set out on foot to find another place for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room, but only if you don't mind late-evening music and street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan45RandolphNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked this hotel through points weeks and pre-paid in advance. When we show up (late night), they tell us they have our reservation in their system but they overbooked and there are no rooms available. Instead of taking responsibility or helping us find another hotel, they did nothing. We spent the night in their hotel lobby until our cruise was ready to board as it was late at night, our first time to Puerto Rico and we had no idea where else to go. Very disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanderer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in a room that had a walkout balcony but there was no furniture for sitting on the balcony. I noticed the balcony next to us did have a couple of chairs and a small table. We only stayed one night prior to a cruise so it was no big deal. Only about 3 balcony rooms available at this hotel and the hotel does not guarantee one. It was nice to listen to the music in the Park while standing on the balcony though.

Room Tip: Elevator is an antique and very small so you may want to choose a lower floor and do the stairs if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sfalfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#21 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in San Juan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#44 of 47 in San Juan
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $141 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing