We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan on returning to Old San Juan & Hotel Plaza De Armas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Only stayed 1 night but very much enjoyed old San Juan. This was my last night of a 2 week vacation in the British Virgin Island and US Virgin Islands and I'm so glad I stayed at the Hotel Plaza de Armas. The location is excellent and the price is very good. They also upgraded me from a single interior to a king with a window. The staff were friendly and efficient. I arrived early but there is a place to store your bags. The reception provided recommendation on things to see and places to eat. Old San Juan is beautiful and very walkable with a lot of history. Very colorful buildings. I only got a small taste of old San Juan but can't wait to go back for a longer visit. When I do return, I plan on staying at the Hotel Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank freebird47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 960 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Location of the Hotel is really one of the best. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room had a big balcony with chairs and a small table. It was a bit noisy because of the truck delivery every early morning. If you want to sleep with open Windows, you have to use earplugs. The cleaning was good, not always perfect but ok. The small coffee shop in the house is cute and you get there friendly Service and a good coffee.
Unfortunately our safe didn't work and still was not replaced after asking several times. But we could place everything we had to at the reception safe.
All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had balkony to the Plaza de Armas side. Unfortunately it is very very loud earyl in the mor...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Irina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

great location but the hotel needs some sprucing up. The room was large and the beds comfortable. But the A/C was too cold, controls hard to use. The light switch had a ghost - went on and off at is own pace. The elevator had paperwork going back to 2007 and was very very slow and out of date. the staff was very nice and helpful and really wanted our stay to be good. Had a balcony but no chairs etc. Some of the windows had wood instead of glass. we were told that we shouldn't have called our taxi driver - but we had been using him all weekend- to go to the airport. There was an in-room safe but the front desk didn't tell us this, found it by accident when getting ready to depart.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SFBzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks a lot SFBzoo for having the opportunity to express your opinion about your stay at Old San Juan.

We are really glad you enjoyed the remarkable location and the friendliest front desk staff in Old San Juan area that we have. However I can assure you that we are much more than just that.

I would like to start telling you that Old San Juan area is one the safest place on all Puerto Rico and Hotel Plaza De Armas is one of the safest hotel since our neighbors are:

1.- The Governor Mansion is just a couple of blocks from our property (Fortaleza Street)
2.- The Department Of State is just besides our property.
3.- The Mayor Office is across the Plaza De Armas Square.
4.- There is a Police Station inside the Mayor Offices.
5.- The President of the most Popular Bank is just around the corner.

Moreover the are always Policemen in every corner of the Old Town because here we value the security theme as one of our main concern. Those special conditions make Old San Juan a nice place to stay.

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas but this is not the opinion of a SOLID 61% of people from Tripadvisor, 80% from Expedia.com, 77% from Booking.com, 62% from Orbitz.com, 88%, from Despegar.com and 73% from Agoda who has visited us and were pleased with the security, location, service and price and for those reasons they continue recommending us to others.

At the moment you wrote your comment we are the number 18 out of 44 hotel (and growing) in the whole San Juan Area.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- If you had trouble with the air conditioning all you had to do was going to the Front Desk and any of our friendly staff could help you with that matter. We do not understand how hard could be increasing or lowering and air conditioning temperature. Also you just could turn off the unit.

2.- If you found a ghost in the room you should told us since we are trying to haunt a couple of them since 1900 when the first one appeared, remember that we are an Old Building from 1869 but the light could easily be fix if had told someone at the front desk.

3.- Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. It's not outdated it has been built according to the design and the ancient time of the building. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.

4.- If somebody have told you that you could not call your taxi driver that was a mistake and I would like to accept our most sincere apologies for that. You have the right to call whoever you want to pick you up, specially if you feel comfortable about it.

5.- About the safe, we have a big sign in the front desk that say we do have one in every room but if you had just requested (again) at the front desk we could help you with that too.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but outside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area. Of course you can always look for another location nearby SFBzoo, that's your call but they will be always not like us.

The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

However next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice old hotel. The location is very convenient for walking around beautiful Old San Juan. The room was nothing spectacular but it was comfy and clean. We enjoyed breakfast downstairs at La Sucree......very tasty, fresh croissants and coffee and extremely friendly service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights pre-cruise April 3-4, 2014. We have stayed here a number of times and they are always great. Requested first floor rooms as we always do and they totally accommodated our requests. Rooms were clean, staff is so friendly. I fell Friday night and got hurt and the staff could not have been nicer, getting my husband extra towels, blankets, etc. Very concerned about me. Called taxis for us whenever we needed them. Overall another great stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor. Even though no windows, the rooms are cooler.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is old and careless, the room is small, ugly and it seemed like it wasn't cleaned for years. They charge me 20 dollars more than the prices I saw in the frontdesk.
It's a shame, because the hotel is in the middle of Old San Juan, a really really nice place with a lot of things to see.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DiegoValencia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thanks a lot Diego for taking the time to express your opinion about your stay at Old San Juan.

We are really glad you enjoyed the remarkable location that we have.

I would like to start telling you that Old San Juan area is one the safest place on all Puerto Rico and Hotel Plaza De Armas is one of the safest hotel since our neighbors are:

1.- The Governor Mansion is just a couple of blocks from our property (Fortaleza Street)
2.- The Department Of State is just besides our property.
3.- The Mayor Office is across the Plaza De Armas Square.
4.- There is a Police Station inside the Mayor Offices.
5.- The President of the most Popular Bank is just around the corner.

Moreover the are always Policemen in every corner of the Old Town because here we value the security theme as one of our main concern. Those special conditions make Old San Juan a nice place to stay.

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas but this is not the opinion of a SOLID 61% of people from Tripadvisor, 80% from Expedia.com, 77% from Booking.com, 62% from Orbitz.com, 88%, from Despegar.com and 73% from Agoda who has visited us and were pleased with the security, location, service and price and for those reasons they continue recommending us to others.

At the moment you wrote your comment we are the number 18 out of 44 hotel (and growing) in the whole San Juan Area.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- The prices you saw in the Front Desk were the same prices you booked from an OTA. You are incorrect when you said that we charged you more than the price you booked. You made your reservation through a OTA and we have the same prices in all of them to comply with the parity matter. Again, the prices you saw at the OTA when you made the reservation were the same prices at the hotel..

Maybe you did not take into account that the price for Saturday night was different than on Sunday. All the hotels all over the world has different prices for Friday and Saturday than any other day.

Moreover you already knew how much you were going to pay since you had the confirmation reservation the day before check in when you received that confirmation. Also is our policy at the hotel to tell our guest how much they are going to pay at the moment of check in.

2.- Our housekeeping service is done on a daily base unless the guest requieres not to,all the elements inside the room are totally change for those completely clean out of the cleaning room, however due to your comment a meetings were held with the entire staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room and all this was applied to your room.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but outside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area. Of course you can always look for another location nearby Diego, that's your call but they will be always not like us.

The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

However next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We truly enjoyed our 2 nights at Hotel Plaza De Armas. We had done our research and were aware ahead of time of the small elevator and inside room with no windows...neither issue was a problem for us...it adds to the charm and quaintness of this historic hotel. Also, there was so much to do...we basically were only in the room to sleep.
The location is right in the heart of Old San Juan and basically you could walk anywhere you wanted to go. There is a taxi service right across street or there is a free trolley which stops right in front of hotel. We chose to always walk so we could take pictures of this wonderful city, check out the shops, and visit the local restaurants on our way to and from sites. By the way, Barrachina Restaurant is a must...they created the original piña colada...delicious!!
The staff here are amazing!! From the moment you walk in until the time you leave...they are friendly, polite,helpful, and very informative. They really go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We were always greeted when we entered the lobby and usually asked if we had plans for the day...could they help us with anything. One day while we were talking with Luis about our plans for supper, he asked if we had reservations and he immediately grabbed a phone, called the restaurant, made us reservations, and gave us a coupon for a discount and free piña colada. Would you get that same service anywhere else??...I don't think so.
As far as safety within the city...we were amazed at how safe we felt the entire time...even walking back from the pier late one evening. There are police all throughout the city...one on almost every corner. Tourism is the "money maker" of this city and they are out to protect the tourists.
We really enjoyed Old San Juan and we are glad we chose to stay at Plaza De Armas. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $79 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing