We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Location was excellent, staff very helpful, bed super,comfortable and lots of pillow,options. Hotel is a bit old but very clean - kind of funky which we like rather than new and sterile. Got a room in front with a small balcony. Weee warned it could be noisy in a.m. It was a bit but we,like the sound of the city waking up. And if you close door and turn on air, no issue. Plaza across the street is lovely and great coffee kiosk with chairs, tables and umbrellas. Spent time there every day. Marilyn's place, bar around the corner had the BEST mojitos. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 961 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Plaza de armas transports the guest to a 19th century ambience, very
classic, clean,warm, and elegant.
The building retains the original arquitecture and it is well kept.
The staff is Polite and eager to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urayoan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have to say that the location couldn't be better. It is central to everything, and none of the sights is a far walk. There is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel. That being said, here's what was true of my three-day stay. My room had no phone, no windows, no coffee maker, no remote for the TV, and a TV that kept switching on and off, making it unwatchable (although admittedly I only wanted to watch the news on occasion). he only way to communicate with reception is to walk down three floors (he elevator is VERY old and slow and not worth the wait unless moving luggage). There is no refrigerator, no breakfast, and no restaurant (apart from a pastry shop), and all of the vending machines were out of service. If I were to visit San Juan again, I would look for a different hotel in the same area. BTW ... two nights and a FULL day of walking are enough to see the main sights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnyytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose to stay here for two nights because we really wanted to explore Old San Juan. We had been to San Juan before but had stayed in Isle Verde which is very touristy, so we wanted a different spin on Puerto Rico.

This is a hotel in my opinion that you stay at for Location. It was super cute in the lobby but the rooms need serious updating. Walls were in bad shape (peeling paint, stains, etc), bathroom was super tiny and the sink was actually in the room and not in the bathroom. These were not super huge problems for us as we did not plan to spend alot of time in the room, and the room was cheap. I prefer to spend my money on adventures when I am on vacation and not on elegance in a hotel room. If that sounds like you, then this is the place for you. Gave me a comfy bed to sleep in, and the front desk staff was nice. And thats all I was really looking for, was somewhere comfy and clean to sleep.

With in walking distance to alot of noteworthy places in old San juan.

We rented a car for this trip. For this hotel, parking was kind of a pain in the butt. I had dropped off my friend and had her check in while i drove around trying to figure out what the hell was going on. Upon check in you are given a map directing you to the prefered parking lot of the hotel. It isnt far, but parking on site is much more prefered for me when I stay at hotels and am using a rental car. Parking was pretty cheap as long as you park where they tell you to.

Room Tip: The cheapest room they have has a twin bed in it. I was not aware of this while booking, and booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location of the Hotel Plaza de Armas is perfect for a visit to the old part of San Juan. Many of the historic places are within walking distance. As well, city buses stop at the Plaza if you wish to take a tour of the city or to travel further to the Fort and El Moro by bus. Being centrally located, we did not have to spend money on taxis. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and very knowledgeable as to what to see and where to eat. The room was clean, plain and comfortable

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank millertait_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a cute little boutique hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. Simple, clean, convenient and friendly. No parking, though. Rooms did not have windows. Easy walking distance to all the sites in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chariot1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location was great for our needs and exploring old san Juan; however, the room had minimal amenities. No Wi-Fi, minimal tv channels, no bathroom supplies. Worst part was no hot water for a shower!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shen1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thanks a lot shen1717 for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We are really glad you enjoyed the remarkable location that we have for your needs and exploring Old San Juan

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas and we respect your comment about us however let me tell you that a lot of people disagree with you since a SOLID 61% of people from Tripadvisor, 80% from Expedia.com, 77% from Booking.com, 62% from Orbitz.com, 88%, from Despegar.com and 73% from Agoda who has visited us and were pleased with the location, service and price and for those reasons they continue recommending us to others.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- Our hotel is a historic property and was built by 1869,so that is why we are OLD, located in the heart of a historic OLD city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.

We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan. People love to be here.

2.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

3.- The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but outside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

4.- At the moment you wrote your comment we are the number 19 out of 44 hotel in the whole San Juan Area.

5.- The majority of our rooms are interior one. Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet which is a little wider than the average room in this area. but we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet. You can always open all of our windows.

6.- If you have book any Interior Room you can always request an upgrade for an affordable cost. Upgrade is always available upon request and we could give you at that moment a very reasonable discount or even a FREE UPGRADE due to your situation.

7.- Meetings were held with the entire housekeeping staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room.

8.- We do have a FREE WiFi in common areas, Lobby and Atrium. All you have to do is ask for the password and you get it. We do have hot water in all our room, sometimes it's just a matter of talking to any of our friendly Front Desk Agent or Housekeeping Maid in order to assist you with that kind of situation

Of course you can always look for another location nearby that's your call but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

However next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
230 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $91 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing