We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Plaza De Armas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you want a taste of what it was like "back in the day" then stay here. However, be prepared for
no extras, not even coffee, although available for purchase via a machine. No phones in the rooms, and empty shampoo shower containers in the shower. Small, slow elevator, but that was to be expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 961 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here during our stay in Old San Juan and was very pleased! Great location,friendly/helpful staff and clean room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and recommend this hotel for those visiting Old San Juan. We plan to stay there again when visiting Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathryn55550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a very pleasant two nights stay. The nearby grocery store, drug store, and delightful park all added to the charm. Luis did as much as he could do to make our stay enjoyable. No windows unfortunate but understandable for a historic building. I suspect that for a small investment each room and lobby could be made more acceptable. There are few choices for staying in old San Juan. Consider this hotel if you get a good rate.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the few rooms with windows, ours was covered with shutters that wouldn't o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sorge5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is an EXCELLENT location, right in the heart of old San Juan. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Very safe neighborhood, great restaurants near by, and bars. Clean rooms. I recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was great and the staff, especially the manager Luis, were very helpful. Perfect location in beautiful Old San Juan. Short walk to the Forts and shopping areas. Also close to the cruise terminal for those travelers catching a cruise out of SaN jUAN

Room Tip: Lower rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TateRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was great experience. People were great. The only inconvenience that there is no parking. But overall the hotel was great .If you want to visit the historic places of Old San Juan and nearby ,is a great choice. If you come to Puerto Rico by Cruise is also great ,because you get to see around, el Morro,The Mayor House,Theater.

Room Tip: If you want to visit the historic places of Old San Juan and nearby ,is a great choice.I dis not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank herminiatorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for several days in May while visiting San Juan! The focal point of this hotel is that it is centrally located to many attractions! The room itself was average---water leaking from the A/C onto the wall intermittently, no Wi-Fi Service in the room, average room cleaning service and a very slow and old elevator. But, what the building itself lacks the hotel staff makes up for! Luis and Bernice were EXCEPTIONAL!!!! They were ALWAYS very HELPFUL, PRODUCTIVE, PROFESSIONAL and especially,CORDIAL!! They are a definite asset to that hotel and it is too bad the owner and her daughter cannot dispel their attitudes of arrogance and haughtiness in order to develop a more friendly disposition toward the public.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOGovoni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in San Juan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#44 of 47 in San Juan
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $141 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing