We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay, Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay, Friendly and Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed two nights at Hotel Plaza de Armas and it was a wonderful experience. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Its location is simply the best in order to enjoy the numerous amenities of Old San Juan...just a few steps away.
Furthermore, the hotel's staff was very nice and helpful, giving hints and tips for the best places to visit, getting great discounts and that kind of stuff. They offered us maps and discount coupons.
Without hesitations, I really recommend Hotel Plaza the Armas and hope to get back there in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NancyPinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    338
    199
    80
    74
See reviews for
125
436
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staff was really cool and friendly.
But sleep was almost impossible because of the AC unit's noise. I guess they have to upgrade their units.
We stayed there only one night. Location was cool very close to everything.
So it was worth the low price for exchange of a few hrs of sleep ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pavlina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

At Hotel Plaza De Armas, you won't be getting the Resort experience, but you -will- be getting the Old San Juan experience. Don't come here expecting huge rooms and HiDef TV. This is the Hotel at the HEART OF IT ALL! It was quiet, despite the fact we were there Friday and Saturday nights (busy busy busy in old san juan these nights). Every staff member we asked for help was prompt and courteous and awesome. All were fluent in English, which was great, I was worried my Spanish wouldn't cut it. They give you a discount and free "original" Pina Coladas from a local dining facility Barrachios, and they gave us a discount to Joybee a yogurt place. Both these places were great. We had a lot of fun the nights we stayed at Hotel Plaza De Armas. There IS NOT parking at the hotel, so if you rent a car, be forwarned! There's plenty of parking in Old San Juan, and most of it costs money (if not all of it) but you'll have to walk back to the motel from the parking garages. It'd be at least a 3-4 block walk. My husband and I are young and fit, so we didn't mind that much. I'd definately stay here again if I went back!

One more note- the hallways are NOT air conditioned, but the rooms and lobby are. The elevator is ancient, and barely fit my husband and me and our luggage (and we're not the beefiest people, but not twiggy either) so this might not be for you if you don't like stairs, or are impatient. The Beds were great, the showers were fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went for an overnight stay and it was super! The manager took good care of us, cousy room, clean facilities, comfortable bed, TV, AC microwave oven an small refrigerator. Even gave us a map with recomendations on where to dine (wich where on a walking distance). Will use it on ture ocasions no doubt.

Room Tip: talk to Luis Garzon (manager)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jose p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times, great location but in need of a total remodel. Most rooms have no windows, small with small bathrooms. The staff is courteous the rack rate for this hotel is $150 or more, I would never stay in this hotel for that price, it is acceptable for $50-$70. If they are charging over $100 I would spend a little more and get something on the beach in Condado or Isla Verde. On my most recent visit the first room I was given part of the bathroom ceiling dropped to the floor, I was given another room, if your expectations are a super 8 best western type place this hotel will probably meet that AT a discounted under $100 rate more than $100 and its definately overpriced for a small windowless room in need of a remodel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We take our guests' comments very seriously because we strive to make each stay a memorable one.

We are deeply sorry your stay was not up to your expectations but when you book a stay some additional step need to be taken into consideration: full description of the room in our property and what the hotel include was provided before buying the room.

We agree with you that our property is not a 5 stars but allow me to tell you that our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires. We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area. We are not overprice, in fact we are the most affordable hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. However is always up to you if you desire to pay or not to pay the price.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

We are really sorry about the situation with the bathroom ceiling but as you mention you were moved inmediately. This is where the great service came in that moment.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I love this place. Best location in Old San Juan. Perfect to just sleep, shower and then head back outside. Always very inexpensive. Best Coffee in PR is at the lil kiosk in the square right in front of the hotel. Close to everything, I love having the Walgreens and Super Max Grocery and Marshalls right there in the plaza in case I need something.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thugpassi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic location right in the heart of Old San Juan, simple but comfortable rooms with TV and AC, very friendly and helpful staff. We got a great deal on a three-night stay. Comfortable lounge area, close to restaurants and supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingIsraeli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing