We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic location right in the heart of Old San Juan, simple but comfortable rooms with TV and AC, very friendly and helpful staff. We got a great deal on a three-night stay. Comfortable lounge area, close to restaurants and supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TravelingIsraeli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 960 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple nights. Not a 5 star hotel but the room was good for sleeping, nice and cold. Nice full shower and comfortable bed. Location was perfect, close to food and shops. Staff were nice, xtra towel when we needed them, good information about shops, restaurants and gave us great advice about our trip to Culebra. Perfect for the price!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anieves37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent attention and service.Since we're a family of 5 they accommodated us in their larger bedroom (little pricey but worth it),which is in their 2nd floor, faces the street, has two mini balconies and came with a small refrigerator.It's located beside the State Department. I could shop and explore old SJ and return to met with the fam at the hotel literally in minutes. The manager recommended Pizzeria Pirilos so we could watch a basketball game and it resulted in one of the best traditionally made pizza I've ever tried. Definitely want to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

In the middle of old San Juan. Dont expect a 5 star hotel. Atmosphere very dark, although the room has everything you need. No pool, no parking. You have to be careful were you park you can get a ticket.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lajas_PuertoRicoJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thanks a lot Mr. Lajas for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We take our guests' comments very seriously because we strive to make each stay a memorable one.

We are deeply sorry your stay was not up to your expectations but when you book a stay some additional step need to be taken into consideration: full description of the room in our property and what the hotel include was provided before buying the room.

None of the hotels in Old San Juan has parking except for Hotel El Convento and The Sheraton Old San Juan. We never recommend to park in the street because as you mention you can get a ticket from the local police. All other hotel use to recommend the Doña Fela or La Puntilla Parking lot. The same thing happen with the pool.

We agree with you that our property is not a 5 stars but allow me to tell you that our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.
We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building.

There is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year , that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a small hotel with a quasi-cute appearance. Almost everything is in small size, the rooms, the halls and even the elevator, but it doesn't mean that it is a claustrophobic experience. The room features, including the bed, were in average to good condition and it was clean. For me this is the most centric place to stay in Old San Juan. We are a local couple that stayed for the 1st time, for 2 nights. We had a wonderful time and experience doing it all: restaurant & bar hoping (there are plenty), shopping, visiting art galleries, site seeing, meeting people, etc. Conclusion: this is one of the most economic and best option to get a decent room in Old San Juan, mainly to keep your things, shower-dress yourself, get out and just return when ready to sleep after a day of full activity and fun, particularly if your main goal is to fully enjoy the Old San Juan and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Naopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there at The Plaza De Armas for 5 days and 4 nights. Arrived there after 10 and the night clerk was extremely friendly and personable. They were so helpful at telling where to go and what to do and how to get there! They showed me how to get around San Juan on free transportation and that saved me big bucks! They have great deals with Barrachinas, a MUST restaurant, that saves you 20% and a free drink! The entire staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and I will DEFINITELY be going back. Mr. Luis Garcon and his amazing staff made my trip a beautiful experience. The hotel beautiful, the rooms are very clean and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only had 3 nights before the cruise. First night was late arrival so we chose a place near the airport. We wanted to see more of the island so we went to the west end to Fajardo for the 2nd night. For the last night we came back to old San Juan to be close to the ship for departure. Not only was this right in town, it was the cleanest and smelled wonderfully fresh. With the humidity and heat of August in the tropics, this was very much appreciated. I wish we had spent more time there. Great location in close walking distance to museums, forts, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Did I mention that it was the best price by a long shot too? Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates 3 star accommodations at a 1-2 star price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $79 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing