We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking to stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
“Looking to stay here again”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My sister and I have stayed here twice. We loved it both times. It has since changed ownership and from reading the recent reviews it seems that it is still a great place to stay. It is in the perfect location for all things Old San Juan, and we highly recommend it. The elevator is (was) always an interesting ride. You can easily walk to historic sites, shopping and eating places. We have always felt safe here also. We plan to stay here again in the spring. I had to select a date for this review, it is not correct in the year, there was not another option, but both visits were in April.

Room Tip: We always choose a room with a balcony, there are only the tiny ones on the 2nd & 3rd floors, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    340
    200
    81
    76
See reviews for
129
440
127
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location - very nice hotel. Friendly service - clean rooms. I highly recommend for others to stay here. I will if I'm lucky enough to return to San Juan in the future. Walking distance to the forts and surprisingly quiet given it's central location in Old San Juan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are looking for a grand hotel you are not looking at the right place. This hotel is very clean and friendly. The best advantage of this hotel is it's location. Once you are there no need for taxi because everything is at walking distance. I would go there again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracay, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We selected this place to have a late day and night in Old San Juan and it was exactly what we got. Walking distance to the Cathedral, Paseo del Morro, very good restaurants. But also a very nice lobby with a full WiFi service and a comfortable and nice room to have a great rest.

No parking available at the hotel. We could park near it in authorized spaces in the street but a kind front desk attendant recommended to park in La Puntilla parking lot that is just 4 or 5 blocks from the hotel. Very cheap (4 or 5 bucks from 7PM to 7AM) so a very good option.

In overall a nice experience for our first evening in Old San Juan. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location in Old San Juan. You're close to everything, so there's no need to rent a car. The room we had was small, but suitable for the two of us. It has no windows, but the AC was working perfectly. The staff is super friendly and helpful. They recommended some good places which we tried. Also, we got some coupons and a map to help us get around in the city. We stayed 5 nights, which was perfect to explore the city and see some beautiful sights of Puerto Rico. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who's traveling to San Juan!

Room Tip: For people who are in good shape: get a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hethelejaaropreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, null, British Virgin Islands
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I only stayed for one night in Hotel Plaza De Armas and found it to be perfect for my short time in Old San Juan. On arrival the lady receptionist was very nice and recommended some places to visit. I was alone so the location right in the heart of town was perfect. The room was small yet having so many things to do in town it was perfect for a place to rest my head. After travelling 29 hours, I could be biased in saying it was the best bed I have ever slept in...I went to a local bar, the oldest bar in Old San Juan called El Batay which like much of the town has amazing character and full of interesting people. I met an awesome Puerto Rican man there and fell in love. I appreciate the fact that the rooms are of moderate size and my room had no windows. This is what led me to get some night air and meet the man of my dreams! I would highly recommend the Hotel Plassa De Armas for those who like to get out and see the beauty of the place they are visiting night and day. It is as central as you can get with a very clean, friendly, interesting feel about the place. Sure the elevator is slow yet unique and there is no activity in the hotel yet who needs hotel activity when you are in Old San Juan!! The streets are alive. Thanks for making this year so much better that the rest!!

Room Tip: If you are on your own (and plan on staying on your own for the night) want to spend time out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Feeinthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is located right in the heart of Old San Juan! There were unlimited places to explore, all within walking distance. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They provided with coupons for area restaurants and a map to find my way around the city. The rooms were small and the elevator was antique, but I found it charming!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 47 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing