We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip, great hotel, great city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trip, great hotel, great city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's location, as others have noted, is superb! It would be hard, even for me, to get lost finding my way back because the hotel is right in the middle of the plaza. The rooms were clean and cozy, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We only stayed for 1 night this time, but we will certainly stay here again on our next adventure to Old San Juan! Most noteworthy was the amazing sleep I got while here! Although the hotel is central to everything, your not staying right above all the clubs and drunken chaos found on some streets, so it's nice and quiet when your ready to turn in for the night! If you are planning a trip to Old San Juan, this is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with balconies, so try to reserve one ahead of time. The view out into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    338
    199
    80
    74
See reviews for
125
436
125
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rincon, null, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We needed a hotel to stay for 2 nights due to some business we had to do, we had stayed there before when it belonged to howard johnson hotels, rooms are tiny, tv's are old but that doesn't matter since you will be at the hotel for short period of time, what was dreadful is that the A/C unite was damaged and it was turning on and off every 2-3 minutes all night since 'm the type of person that can't deal with noises at sleep, my sleep was awful. Other than that the location is excellent, walking distance to great restaurants and places.

Room Tip: Upgrade to king bed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is an excellent location, within walking distance of everything. The rooms were clean, a decent size. This was within walking distance of the cruise port which is why we selected the hotel. It was an easy walk downhill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is an old building but it has its charms. Great location on a nice Plaza which has spontaneous musicians at all hours singing and playing guitar. A free bus which takes you all around Old San Juan stops right in front. We had a room with no windows on the second floor the first night. The bed was comfy, cable tv, nice shower. We were moved to the fourth floor on the second night because our AC malfunctioned. The fourth floor room was much bigger, larger bath with the sink in the bathroom. There is a strong musty smell on the fourth floor which is noticeable as you get out of the elevator. They need to attend to that. The desk is very helpful and pleasant, especially Beatrice who we talked to many times.

Room Tip: The windowless rooms on the 4th floor are bigger. The "windows" in windowed rooms are shu...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndyBH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a nice hotel rooms were clean and small but price and location was great its definitely a great deal staff always very friendly and helpful I will stay here again on future trips its in the center of old San Juan everything to see is here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josha460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent location in Old San Juan. Across the street from a park area and a block from the grocery store. The place has character, but not your typical cookie-cutter luxurious hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, but there are no windows in the interior rooms. But really, who goes to Puerto Rico to stay in a hotel??? We enjoyed saving a few bucks by staying here and instead spending our budgeted $$ on excursions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StephandYony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Booked because was going to a good friend birthday and don't want to worry about drinking and driving. The rooms are small but we only need them to rest. Staff was friendly and attentive. We have a blast and you can literally return to the hotel crawling since it is right on the middle of Old San Juan. For the price, I think we get a bargain. Definitively will do it again! My only complaint will be the pillows were too hard. You can buy some in Marshalls which is one minute away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GabyFont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing