We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for an overnight stay before a cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed May 15, 2013

location was prefect to walk around Old San Juan before our cruise. We arrived very late the night before and had no problem checking in. Room was small but you are in old san Juan and only for one night. Hotel stored luggage for the day. If you are taking Carnival you can walk to the port but if you are on Royal Caribbean you need a taxi to the port - about $15.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows so if that bothers you for a one night i would request a window room or s...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 959 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The rooms were clean and cool. My room was on the second floor so I didn't need to use the elevator. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of old San Juan, so where ever you walked, you were heading to some beautiful historic place. The hotel is also located immediately adjacent to the Department of State; there's security day and night so I felt very safe and the police were always patient to give me directions or recommend local places to eat. I'm very happy with the hotel and will definitely be staying here again when I go back. Staff was very nice, courteous and friendly.

Bear in mind that this is not a resort hotel, its an older building, like much of Old San Juan, quaint and historic. If you are looking for a resort hotel with pool, sauna, 24-hr food service, this may not be your hotel. If you are looking to soak up Old San Juan's narrow cobblestone streets, visit El Morro, la Fortaleza, Convent, etc, and be out and about the entire day, then this hotel is the best choice. Oh, a Marshall's is conveniently located across the square, so if you forgot anything or need to get an extra pair of sandals, bathing suit or bottles of water, the store closes at 9, depending on whether it's a weekend or weekday. =) and if you need medication, Walgreens on located on the square too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zhuan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location, and the desk staff were very helpful and pleasant to work with. Within walking distance of great local restaurants, bars, parks and tourist attractions. We stayed in an interior room with a double bed, it was a little dark with no window, but the architecture of the building does not allow for all rooms to have one, which is understandable. Room was very clean. Furniture and decor updates could make the rooms feel nicer, but the lobby was very modern and decorated nicely! Would stay here again and opt for a window room!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiaEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Been there for a long weekend Thurs-Sun with my girlfriend.
Rooms are very cleaned...Ac is loud but works fine.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
For the room-rate is definitely worth the money, plus is located in a great spot in Old San Juan.
If you have a car it might be a pain to find parking spots.
We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a very good stay in this hotel. We got very lucky and could upgrade to a room with windows and a balcony, which made our stay much more pleasant than it would have been in a room without windows. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. Despite being there over a weekend, it was not at all noisy. Do not expect to use the elevator, unless you are exceptionally patient. The location is wonderful and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Awayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The gentleman who checked us in was very helpful, and tried to get us in our room as quickly as possible. I don't have his name. He also told us exactly where to park our rental vehicle in the city parking lot so we wouldn't have to pay much. There is no street parking as the hotel is located right in the middle of Old San Juan. This location is terrific for being close to all the action in the park, but it might not be easy getting to and from due to traffic congestion. Once you get there, it is a great location and near restaurants, shops and El Morro park.

Room Tip: No hotel parking, so park in city parking lot. Ask hotel staff where in the parking lot you should...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WestVirginiaBirdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for second time in this lovely hotel during the "Fiestas de la Calle San Sebastian" in the Old San Juan. Hotel personnel was very nice, specially with mom who is handicapped. We stayed for the second tim, and we loved it. The hotel iis in the middle of the party, easy to walk around during this weekend when use a car to reach Old San Juan is almost imposibble. Looking forward to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IsauryTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#43 of 47 in San Juan
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $77 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing