We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old town San Juan location was the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
1 review
“Old town San Juan location was the best!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Right across street from small park. Old hotel with a lot of charm. Had inside room at a good price, hung around on third floor lobby to get Internet but then it was still part of the charm. Would stay here again, staff was very nice and helpful. No parking, streets of brick and one way. Free trolly right in front of hotel. Take taxi there, it was hard to find.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    339
    200
    81
    75
See reviews for
128
439
126
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family had one night in the heart of old San Juan. This little hotel and it's manager made it possible to find the hidden local gems! Rooms were clean and quiet; staff was attentive and helpful. I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrambois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came to San Juan one day early for our Carnival Cruise and found a room at Hotel Plaza De Armas. It's a neat little boutique hotel right in the heart of Old San Juan. The location is awesome, the room was clean, and the price was right. Our family of 4 had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything has been covered pretty well by others. It is basic! It is old for sure. The Internet will not reach into the rooms. Little amenities to be found. Good for sleeping and that is all. We got a 40% off deal on one of the major websites. For that cheap a deal it was ok. Would I ever think about paying full price, no way. But for the deal I got considering what hotel rooms go for in Puerto Rico I might go back. Maybe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is an example of a hotel where you get what you pay for and even less. The hotel is very well situated in downtown Old San Juan, but it is in a “Cuban” condition. The elevator is in a creepy condition – it takes forever to get to the second floor (I had to wait half an hour) and our room was equally in a creepy condition, with basic amenities and without windows. Such a room would probably be priced in the mainland at $29.99. The bed sheets haven’t been changed in weeks, as they were yellowish and full of hair. When I advised the reception desk, it took more than half an hour to find us another room. The manager came into the room, looked at the bed sheets and said they were clean, however he will find us another room. I couldn’t believe that he can say that when it was obviously not true. I must say that I travel extensively around the world and I never saw such dirty bed sheets anywhere else. The second room that we had was in a cleaner condition. The hotel was also very noisy starting early in the morning, when the hotel staff came in speaking loudly and knocking doors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Otawa815,

Thanks a lot for taking the time out of your tight schedule to make a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building, there is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan. And as the same of our sister country Cuba we share the same architectural spanish style past. People love to be here.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO, like you did and were taking care of inmediately as you mention.

2.- Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing. Say that took half hour to go to the second floor is so kind of hyperbolic words.

3.- I do not know what really you mean for creepy. We are a modest hotel but with a great location for being in Old San Juan.

4.- Our housekeeping staff work daily in cleaning and changind the bedding in the rooms. It's impossible to find a room with weeks without changing the sheets. Telling that the bed was full of hair is another kind of hyperbolic words.

5.- Allow me to take your words: "The manager came into the room, looked at the bed sheets and said they were clean, however he will find us another room." If your room was changed I do not understand your complaint because at the moment a situation is taking care of that situation already disappear.

6.- A meeting have been held with the housekeeping staff in order to minimize the noise in the lower floor. But normally the cleaning of the rooms start at 10:00 AM and our hotel has a particular eco. However we take very seriously all the comment from our guest and take inmediate actions in order to solve any complaint.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Independence, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Some other reviews for this property state how the front desk staff are fantastic. I agree that the employees are extremely helpful fixing many little things such as: providing towels and blankets when the maid forgot to stock the room; offering batteries for the AC romote; calling the satelite TV provider when the TV didn't; providing ice when none of the ice machines worked. The staff had to do all of the above for us. Unfortunately they were unable to fix the broken elevator, we were going on a cruise and had to take our luggage up four flights of stairs. There was a wedding or festival of some type the Saturday night we stayed at this property. Until almost 3:30 in the morning drunken guest were returning to their rooms and slamming doors. The next morning when we went to shower there was no hot water. We went to make coffee, there was a coffee maker but no coffee, cups, creamer or sugar. The staff said they didn't have supplies for the coffee and claimed the hot water was fine, even though 2 other guests were complaining about the hot water when we were. Also each time we had an issue we had to walk down 4 flights of stairs since there are no room phones. At check out when we reviewed all of the problems with the lady at the firont desk, the manager walked away from the front desk and went info his office and when we asked for him, he refused to come out.

Room Tip: select another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 288ScottW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks a lot Mr. Scott for taking the time out of your tight schedule to make a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- I suggest you that before you go any place on earth you need to make your homework trying to investigate as much as you can about the place you are heading.

2.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

3.- I do not see any harm in giving you the service if you requiere extra towels or if maid forgot to stock on the room.

4.- Giving you the battery for the remote could not be a great issue because things could happen inn any moment with electronic devices.

5.- We have a new TV Cable provider DIRECT TV and we do not have any problem with them. if you had any trouble with your TV that could
be fixed inmediately.

6.- We just have ONE ICE MAKER MACHINE and it is working properly.

7.- The elevator could be stopped in one moment but we know how to keeping running asap. Normally we do not accept that our guest carry their luggage specially if they are going to the 4th floor but If you were in a hurry for coming up or down that is your call to do that.

8.- Th behavior of our guest is their responsability, although we have a policy against noises we can not totally control it.

9.- The hot water heaters in all our room work properly, however if you had any situation with that you can be sure we could change it into another room as your request. I do not think that more guest were complanng about the same situation as you because we do not let that situation like this spread out of control.

10.- I have to admit that we o not have coffee at this moment. The reason is that we are making a new contract with a new company.

11.- If you can read all the other reviews posted in this website you can notice that everybody speak very nicely about the hotel staff completely.
For that reason I'm the first one in line to treat every guest with all the respect that they deserve. So it is impossible that I could not address a guest situation in a proper manner and it's unthinkable that I have turned my back on any guest claiming

Mr. Scott let tell you that we have had guests in our Hotel Plaza De Armas that have spent a long period of time with us (2, 3 & more weeks in a row) and have been pleased with our services and with their room and if they have required anything in any moment have been addressed inmediately and without delay and the most important thing is that they have come back to stay even longer and their experience with us has been an amazing one at the point they want to share more time in our place.

Yes indeed we have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Mr. Scott, allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice old hotel with charm and character in the heart of old San Juan. Room was small but clean, staff friendly and helpful. You walk out the front door into an old Spanish style plaza with gazebos, fountains and benches. Affordable as well. Will stay there again, without a doubt.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 48 in San Juan
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 48 in San Juan
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 48 in San Juan
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 48 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing