We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quaint & Romantic”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Plaza de Armas Hotel is the most centric place to stay in Old San Juan. The hotel is elegant and service is good. You can park at La Puntilla parking lot (about $8 for 1 day and overnight parking is allowed) or at Doña Fela's parking garage; both about 2 blocks walk. Don't forget to ask the front desk for a map showing free trolley stops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    340
    200
    81
    76
See reviews for
129
440
127
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our experience with the below hotel, Plaza De Armas in San Juan was poor!

-the elevator to our 4th floor room didn't work
-it took two trips from the lobby to 4th floor to get one room key to work
-our 2nd room key never did work
-the shower had luke warm water the night we arrived and cold water the next morning
-the shower head was clogged and sprayed water in all directions
-there was no way to control the AC in the room (it operated by remote control only, the remote control didn't work)
-the cable TV didn't work when we arrived
-our bathroom had a total of 2 towels and one wash cloth for two quests
-there were no ice machines or signs to ice machines on the 4th floor
-there was no room phone, so to report the above problems we had to go from 4th floor to 1st floor each time
-all night long we could hear other guests come and go
-there was a coffee maker but no coffee, cups, creamer, or sugar in the room

I paid $145 plus tax for a total of $169.23, I expected more for that rate. I agree with another reviewer who wrote, "The price here should be $70, but in our opinion the severe shortage of rooms in San Juan during the holidays and events keeps this hotel in business."

Room Tip: Look for another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you have to be in Old San Juan for Christmas or other event weeks and everything else is booked you might still be able to rough it out at this hotel. That's because you'll probable be walking up the narrow stairs to your room ( we were on the 4th floor) as the elevator almost never works or appears. Further, you may be uncomfortable all night fighting the defective airconditioner if you book our room. And internet?, not in our room, and in the lobby we still had to use our own iPhone hotspot.

Inside rooms for us were over $140 are small with no windows. The price here should be $70, but in our opinion the severe shortage of rooms in San Juan during the holidays and events keeps this hotel in business.

Walk out the front door during Christmas time and your spirits will turn 180 degrees with the beautiful decorations you'll enjoy in the Plaza De Armas. On New Years Day, especially, parents and kids fill plaza with fun and music.

Room Tip: Book early elsewhere. If you must book here, try for one of the few street view rooms or a first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This old hotel is European in style: Small rooms and baths, with just-average amenities. The location could not be better, on a shady plaza in Old San Juan, convenient to historic sites and many restaurants. But the location also means lots of early morning noise from trucks and / or construction equipment outside. We upgraded to a king room with a balcony but that meant a room at the front, where the noise may have been worse -- and the louvered balcony doors were locked and the louvers permanently closed. The rate didn't include breakfast, because there was no food service. Neither was there any coffee in the room to go with the coffee maker. The front desk suggested that Walgreens, across the plaza, sold coffee. The ice machine on the second floor was broken, with no sign until it cranked away and produced no ice (It's available by asking at the front desk). We will make plans further ahead next time so we can find something better in a charming part of a lovely city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Old Traveler,

Thanks a lot for taking the time out of your tight schedule to make a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building, there is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

2.- We are really sorry you did not sleep quite well because of the noise on the street but we can not control that kind of incidents.

3.- Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet (Interior Queen Bed) wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. However we have bigger room (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet.

4.- We are really sorry that you came to us in the moment we are just repairing our balconies.
For security measures we needed to keep them closed.

5.- About the coffee, we are negotiating for other suplier company.

6.- The Ice Machine was not broken it was out of service. At this very moment the Ice Machine is working properly. However you mention that " (It's available by asking at the front desk)", so if you requiered Ice you have it.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

However allow me to suggest you that next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept my invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I just escaped for a few days to Puerto Rico to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We just wanted to find a nice, clean and not to expensive place in downtown San Juan. A place where we don't have to drive anywhere. Hotel Plaza De Armas was it. The room was small but had that European charm and was very clean (and yes there was soap, shampoo and conditioner provided)! The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful, and even referred us to a great place for breakfast, overlooking the coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerdaP477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

An affordable, relatively clean hotel located in the center of Old San Juan. It's a fairly standard hotel, so if you're looking for fancy, try elsewhere, but this is a great option if you're looking for a place to lie your head at a reasonable price in between exploring Old San Juan. Very friendly staff. A note of caution: all rooms face inward toward an open, four story atrium, through which sound travels very easily. As a result, it was noisier than most hotels, so earplugs recommended, especially since other guests seemed unaware how well their voices traveled while coming and going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel, located right on the Plaza square, is small and unusual. The location is ideal and one can easily walk to restaurants, the habor, and shops. The rooms were clean and functional and the hotel staff was helpful and courteous. For the money it's a great value. I don't think it's really suitable for families, as the rooms are small, but perfect for a single or couple. If you're looking for fancy, with all the trimmings, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel like you're stepping back in time, you'll love it.
Yes, the elevator is small and definitely a throw back to a different era. We managed to fit our two small suitcases and the two of us in it to get to our room and then we just took the steps. The elevator didn't scare me, but it was slow. Actually it's kind of cute. lol
A huge Marshalls is right across the Plaza for the shopaholic. At night the Plaza lights up with people and fun.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorgal0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 47 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 47 in San Juan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms are windowless, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing