We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location & staff ... but many shortcomings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location & staff ... but many shortcomings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This old hotel is European in style: Small rooms and baths, with just-average amenities. The location could not be better, on a shady plaza in Old San Juan, convenient to historic sites and many restaurants. But the location also means lots of early morning noise from trucks and / or construction equipment outside. We upgraded to a king room with a balcony but that meant a room at the front, where the noise may have been worse -- and the louvered balcony doors were locked and the louvers permanently closed. The rate didn't include breakfast, because there was no food service. Neither was there any coffee in the room to go with the coffee maker. The front desk suggested that Walgreens, across the plaza, sold coffee. The ice machine on the second floor was broken, with no sign until it cranked away and produced no ice (It's available by asking at the front desk). We will make plans further ahead next time so we can find something better in a charming part of a lovely city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Old Traveler,

Thanks a lot for taking the time out of your tight schedule to make a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building, there is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

2.- We are really sorry you did not sleep quite well because of the noise on the street but we can not control that kind of incidents.

3.- Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet (Interior Queen Bed) wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. However we have bigger room (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet.

4.- We are really sorry that you came to us in the moment we are just repairing our balconies.
For security measures we needed to keep them closed.

5.- About the coffee, we are negotiating for other suplier company.

6.- The Ice Machine was not broken it was out of service. At this very moment the Ice Machine is working properly. However you mention that " (It's available by asking at the front desk)", so if you requiered Ice you have it.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

However allow me to suggest you that next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept my invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    329
    193
    75
    68
See reviews for
122
420
121
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I just escaped for a few days to Puerto Rico to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We just wanted to find a nice, clean and not to expensive place in downtown San Juan. A place where we don't have to drive anywhere. Hotel Plaza De Armas was it. The room was small but had that European charm and was very clean (and yes there was soap, shampoo and conditioner provided)! The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful, and even referred us to a great place for breakfast, overlooking the coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerdaP477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

An affordable, relatively clean hotel located in the center of Old San Juan. It's a fairly standard hotel, so if you're looking for fancy, try elsewhere, but this is a great option if you're looking for a place to lie your head at a reasonable price in between exploring Old San Juan. Very friendly staff. A note of caution: all rooms face inward toward an open, four story atrium, through which sound travels very easily. As a result, it was noisier than most hotels, so earplugs recommended, especially since other guests seemed unaware how well their voices traveled while coming and going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel, located right on the Plaza square, is small and unusual. The location is ideal and one can easily walk to restaurants, the habor, and shops. The rooms were clean and functional and the hotel staff was helpful and courteous. For the money it's a great value. I don't think it's really suitable for families, as the rooms are small, but perfect for a single or couple. If you're looking for fancy, with all the trimmings, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel like you're stepping back in time, you'll love it.
Yes, the elevator is small and definitely a throw back to a different era. We managed to fit our two small suitcases and the two of us in it to get to our room and then we just took the steps. The elevator didn't scare me, but it was slow. Actually it's kind of cute. lol
A huge Marshalls is right across the Plaza for the shopaholic. At night the Plaza lights up with people and fun.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorgal0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked a room with a balcony for 1 night. If you're looking for a sleek, modern hotel, with all the amenities, you might not be satisfied with this choice. But if you're looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights, this hotel offers you a teriffic location, modest, yet clean room with all the basics (comfortable bed, good A/C, TV, and shower). One of the highlights is the very friendly, helpful staff; they were a pleasure. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After doing a lot of research on where to stay before leaving on a cruise, I decided to give Hotel Plaza De Armas a try. I was not disappointed; everything that I expected for the money was what I got. The rooms are small, but very clean and this is more important to me than size. The staff was amazing and helpful with where to dine and have a cocktail. The elevator was just like others explained it.....kind of scary for this girl, so I sent the boyfriend up to the 4th floor on it while I took the stairs! He did arrive in one piece; however I made it to the 4th floor taking the stairs before he did on the elevator. Carnivals terminal is within walking distance from the hotel and we took advantage of this with all 3 of our bags after talking to a cab driver and finding out that they wanted 17.00 for a ride. Since our cab ride to the hotel was only 24.00 and it took about 20 minutes to arrive at the hotel, this seemed like a rip off. I did not regret the decision to walk; it is all downhill pretty much. I should also add that the staff held onto our luggage after check out until we were ready to head to the ship. This hotel fit all our needs for a pre-cruise stay and I will stay here again if ever sailing out of San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cstreetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stay there for two nights (Dec. 6 & 7) before my cruise. It was WELL worth it; room and things were clean.
The manager and assistants were friendly.
It is in a perfect location for enjoy the night market and walking around Old San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#33 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan

Property: Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Address: 202 Calle San Jose | Old San Juan, San Juan 00925-3510, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#14 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in the colonial district of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the center of Old San Juan. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The colonial building features its unique and renowned antique elevator true to its history. In every direction you can find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment. Our completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. The modest standard rooms have no windows, excellent for a good night sleep. Suites overlook the city hall and Plaza de Armas. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access in all common areas of the property. Even though everything is at walking distance, we have a trolley stop right outside our door and a taxi line across from the hotel .We look forward to your stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing