We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Nearby Hotels
$156
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(San Juan)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Canario by the Lagoon(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$331
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$301
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$289
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$408
$242
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveler rating
260
341
201
81
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
341
201
81
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold san juansmall elevatortrolley stopwalking distanceel morroyour luggagestayed one nightfew blocksthird floorcruisebarrachinapharmacypuerto
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 960 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very friendly staff! Great location in Old San Juan and also reasonably priced. Would recommend it to everyone! The hotel has a charming old world architecture and high (12 ft?) ceilings. Wish I had booked all my nights there not just the one that I got! Next time...

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank ReedJOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a 2 stars hotel we got a room with not window but we didnt care much because we just use it to sleep and take a shower because there is so much to see in Old San Juan and was our first time there but If you spend more time in the room I would not recommend room without a window , the AC works very good and the location is the best close to everything El morro, all kinds of restaurants, stores, supermarkets, etc I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel more than met our needs for a 11 day vacation. The staff went way above what would be expected. Not just polite but friendly. Rooms were cleaned the right way every day.
Close to local places to eat. Right in middle of the sights of old San Juan, with a free trolley that stops right out side the door.
The plaza itself is fun to sit and people watch with a cup of coffee from a local vendor. The police make sure that your stay is safer than most cities in the states. The residents can only be described as welcoming.
In short if we head thatr way again , this hotel will be our choice .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micksan413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I loved the experience at the hotel, the staff has a great deal, mr. Luis Garzon always concerned that this all well and have a good service, I was with my wife celebrating anniversary and we really loved it, going back to Old San Juan back to Plaza de armas

Thanks to all the staff, the hotel is excellent

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yeu514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When this hotel was a HJ, I was afforded a sad, but filling complimentary breakfast, not any more. I had to buy breakfast for almost $10 in their new restaurant. The elevator is still scary for claustrophobic individuals, and the rooms are tiny as well. The good news is this time I stayed in a room with a window that I was asked not to open, and a terrace that overlooked the park! It was conveniently located but not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest possible room or you could get stuck in a cell.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StacyHBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

A trillion thanks Stacey for taking the time to write your impression about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas PR Old San Juan.

We would like to stablish a couple of update regarding our property.

1.- Since September 20, 2012 is under new administration.
2.- We are not Howard Johnson anymore.
3.- We are constantly improving our property
4.- We have the friendliest Front Desk Staff in the whole area.
5. Our housekeeping service is oustanding.
6.- We have the perfect location for being in Old San Juan.
7. We have Interior Rooms with NO WINDOWS but we do have Suites with French Balcony.
8. We have a Trolley Stop just in our doors (Trolley is FREE).
9. A Taxi Line is just in front of us..
10. We are near the airport and the cruise piers.
11. We are very affordable comparing with most hotel in the area.
12. We are one of the few hotels in the area that has elevator. It runs slow but is very reliable.
13. Our property is a 1869 historic building, remodeled in 2005.

It's true we have no complementary breadfast anymore but the reason for this is that we have a concesionary at the premise and we can not compete with them. However there are always other options for more affordable breadfast like Wendy's and Subway that are nearby the plaza.

The majority of our rooms are interior one. Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. but we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet. You can always open all of our windows. If you have book any Interior Room you can request an upgrade for an affordable cost. Upgrade is always available upon request, . So you are invited to stay in any of them for your comfort next time you visit us.

Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.

Stacey, allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Please make sure you contact me whenever you plan to visit us once again. It will be awesome to serve you when you come back.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews