We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location with EXCELLENT service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Princess Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with EXCELLENT service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

After spending 10 days at the Coral Princess my boyfriend and i would say that the room and the location was very good the service at the front desk and housecleaning was excellent We would highly recommend for anyone who needs clean bright place to stay with a friendly staff Walking to the beach ,restaurants and bars took only several minutes. The staff had many great tips on how to make the vacation memorable, all of their suggestions were perfect ,so be sure and ask for recommendations

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank_and_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    345
    80
    21
    21
See reviews for
101
428
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great location and great value. The hotel is literally 2 blocks from the beach, around the corner from Walgreen's, around the corner from Starbuck's and all of the restaurants. An excellent fitness centre is a 3 minute walk away. The location is just perfect.

The rooms were very clean and modern. Flat screen TV, marble floor, and all other necessities. The rooms were small however. We spent most of our time outside the room so it was perfect for us.

There are 2 great outdoor spaces in the hotel. The third floor has a rooftop patio with a hot tub. There is a lot of room up there and hardly anyone goes up there. The 2nd floor also has a nice sitting area. The main floor has a pool and sitting areas.

The breakfast every morning was just average. It was a continental breakfast with juice, milk, coffee and hot chocolate.

The staff were excellent. They are very polite and very helpful with finding out which buses to take to get to destinations, which restaurants are the best to eat at, which shows are the best to go to, etc.

The neighborhood of Condado is in the perfect spot as it is halfway between Old San Juan and Isla Verde.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask that your room is not facing a common sitting area, especially on the first floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

this is our 2nd visit. The staff is always welcoming and knowledgeable, when we come through the front door and lobby. It's a quaint property, updated furnishings, elevator access to most floors - everything you need for a short stay. Location is a plus, to the beach, to restaurants and bars. Try out the small pool to cool off, or sit in the rooftop hottubs. Breakfast was continental with lots of coffee. One comment/recommendation, service staff cannot provide attention to detail while on their cell phone. Book early for this hotel, it's often full. See you next time - if you have room for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I chose the Coral Princess for our annual romantic getaway and we were not disappointed. Although sometimes we do stay in large resorts, this time we wanted a small, quiet property in walking distance to hotels, public transportation and the beach. The Coral Princess is perfect if this is what you are looking for, and what you save for the room rate you can spend on restaurants and the like. The Coral Princess is small (only 25 rooms), clean and quiet. Our room (#4 on the first floor) had a queen platform bed with window looking out to the pool, small fridge, ample closet space, desk and chair, and air conditioning. It was smallish (about 12x12) and simply decorated (similar to style of IKEA furnishings) and included a great bath with jacuzzi tub/shower combo, sleek modern sink with storage drawers underneath and a large mirror. Pure white towels were clean and VERY soft. Hotel provided daily body wash, shampoo and conditioner plus lovely olive oil/orange scented bar soap. The front desk was manned 24/7 with very friendly and helpful staff (they gave us great advice about navigating public transportation). Margarita, the manager is a delight! When we were hard pressed to find a restaurant/club to celebrate New Year's Eve, Margarita got right on it and within an hour had found the perfect venue that matched our style and our budget; we cannot thank her enough! This intimate hotel is located on a quiet street (Magdalena Street) one block from the main avenue (Ashford Ave) lined with restaurants. The beach is two blocks away, and though the sand is clean and soft the ocean there is rough so we took a 15 min taxi to Carolina Beach which was gorgeous with warm, calm waters. The hotel has 3 floors, with a rooftop hot tub, outdoor sofas and pool table (inside). Continental, self serve breakfast is included with lovely indoor/outdoor seating surrounded by tropical plants. We very much hope to stay at the Coral Princess Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimberlyHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,027 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and stayed there earlier this year and no problem whatsoever with this hotel. The rooms were clean and not too small. The only drawback was the construction across the street. But we understand that it has nothing to do with the hotel itself. The staff were extremely friendly and helped with dinning options every night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I chose Coral Princess based on the mostly positive feedback here at Tripadvisor. After spending one night, my right foot was covered with bed bug bites. Bugs also bit my arm. I promptly complained to the manager, who apologized and offered to refund me 50% of my one-night stay. I requested a full refund, which she politely declined. I was not in the mood, nor I had the time to spend my last day on the island arguing over a hotel bill, so I reluctantly accepted, and quickly checked out. Basic sanitation is something to be expected at any hotel, and anything less is not only poor customer service, but also a complete disregard for someone's health.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Darwinian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for a resort type hotel it is not the place to go, but if you are looking for a good place, with excellent location and with a good price this is the place to go.
We stayed at this Hotel during thanksgiving weekend, we travel with two babies. They gave us the room number II just in front of the breakfast area, it is a very spacious room just in the first floor and just next to the kitchen area, it was perfect for us specially because we were traveling with two little babies. The room has a refrigerator and it is also next to the pool.
If having a nice pool is important to you, here you won't find it, the pool is small, but for us it was just OK. The hotel is just a few blocks away from the beach, these are the same beaches from the big hotels of this area. And all the area is perfect for walking, shopping, activities, take pictures, and visit good restaurants.
The breakfast is very good, different kind of juices and it includes eggs and jam.
They have internet access, but I was not able to get it from my room. Margarita the manager and all the employees were very warm and helpful.
If you are looking for a good location in a warm and cozy place where you will feel at home but you don't want to overpay for staying in a big resort, this hotel is the place to go. I highly recommend this place, hopefully in my next visit they will have baby cribs and the internet access from my room will be working.

Room Tip: The room II is just in front of the breakfast room and is very spacious (Doubleroom),and you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colombotexano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Property: Coral Princess Hotel
Address: 1159 Ave Magdalena | Condado, San Juan 00907-1710, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing