We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Princess Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I booked a room at the Coral Princess for 3 nights after reading reviews on this site.

Initially I was worried that there wouldn't be parking but that wasn't a problem at all. I used the free parking right in front of the hotel. The lobby itself smelled divine and was very nice. After checking in you walk through the outside corridor filled with plants and flowers.

I booked an economy room but I think they gave me a larger one if you look at the pictures I'm posting. The room itself was spacious and clean. The bathroom was great and the tub had jets for the bath.

I come to Puerto Rico for work and to visit family and I will definitely be staying here again! If you've never been to PR and you want to stay near San Juan - this is a great location as Condado is safe and has all of the resorts. It's about a ten minute drive to Old San Juan.

Room Tip: If you have a room on the first floor near the continental breakfast you can sometimes hear talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bella710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    354
    83
    22
    23
See reviews for
112
451
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during the first few days of our vacation to be close to his family and we enjoyed our stay. It's an INN folks and you cannot expect the luxuries of a five star hotel! It was clean, staff was very friendly, great free breakfast, and close to all shopping and restaurants in the Condado area. Beach is just a walk away. So if you want the great experience of a smaller hotel, this is it....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

When we arrived, we were shown our room - the smallest, and only room without any window - per the floor plan on the door. We asked for another room, and were shown a better one with window. The interiors are newer, comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just passable, you can get better food elsewhere. There is a hot tub on the roof deck and nice terrace and planters at street level. There is a lounge and 24/7 coffee available. The location, in the Condado area, was on a quiet street, and easy walking distance to the shopping area, coastline and across the bridge is Old San Juan, walkable but does take some time. If you have rental car, you can find parking within a few blocks, but it's not easy. I would recommend this place for a good value and the roof deck.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm your room is not the one w/o the window, on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantone808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Overall this hotel is perhaps best for its location and its price. We booked our room through hotels.com and wondered if they reserve the smallest room they have for that offer (or if they saw that we had backpacks and gave us that room). It was literally the size of the bed and not much more, a tiny dresser and then a reasonably sized bathroom. But it really didn't matter; it was the last leg of our honeymoon and we were going into Old San Juan every day, basically just back in the room to sleep. The breakfast was ok, nothing special but we did like the machine serving juice and the one serving coffee and hot cocoa. The third floor hot tub and first floor dive pool are decent and the third floor sitting areas are really nice. We walked to Old San Juan (about an hour) and the bus probably would've only taken 15 minutes but we were there during San Sebastien so it was crazy busy. Still, it is significantly cheaper than other options and was clean and good. The hotel staff was also extremely helpful and pleasant. I'd recommend it but just know what you're getting yourself into.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room -- it's clear there are some bigger ones, do try and get something more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Coral Princess hotel for one night on our way to and from British Virgin Islands (two nights total) in October of 2010. The staff was excellent, very friendly and very helpful assisting us with our needs (arranging taxi rides, dinner suggestions, etc.). It was a $17 taxi ride from the airport and took anywhere from 10-30 minutes depending on traffic.
The hotel itself was not that nice. The room was a little cramped and definitely needed a little better cleaning. The pool was pretty small and the whirlpool and lounge chairs on the roof could have used some better cleaning as well. As others have said, the location was a bit on the edge of a not so nice neighborhood which required buzzing in through the front door as well as a protective fence around the property. Though the surrounding area seemed dodgy, it is only a half block from a main drag with lots of places to eat and shop as well as the beach.
On our return trip we were booked into a room that had some black “dust bunnies” all over the place as well as quite a bit of hair on the bed and floor. I think the A/C unit just needed to be cleaned as it was the source of the dust bunnies but it was spewing them all over the room. We notified the front desk of the situation and they promptly moved us to a different room which was in the same condition as the first time we stayed (reasonably clean) and apologized profusely.
The included continental breakfast was nothing special but was good enough for us; pastries, fruit, juices, etc.
The price was one of the better ones we found and was in the lower middle of the pack and after reading reviews on Trip Advisor more expensive hotels had similar problems to those described above. Our main issue was the cleanliness. I think if they would give rooms a more thorough cleaning we could have given it 4/5 rating. And although the surrounding location was a little suspect, we never felt unsafe at all. If we return to San Juan we will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malikimkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

My first impression on this hotel was that is was cute. I liked the third floor roof deck and little patio off the second floor. They were very peaceful and unique hide-away. It was also nice that there was a kitchen and pool table available.

However, upon taking a closer look around our room, I noticed that both the bedroom and bathroom curtains had a fair amount of mold on them, a wash cloth in the bathroom had a blood stain on it and the white comforter on the bed was also stained.

It was also incredibly noisy and we were not even facing the street. Some of the other reviews remarked about the rooms being very small. Ours was a deluxe king, and it was a decent size. Big enough to accomadate the king size bed and the pack-and-play we requested for our baby.

The location was good and very close to the beach. And the price was very reasonable. However, I would probably not stay here again given the noise and the filth.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogagirlgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I spent 7 nights at the Coral Princess and absolutely recommend it. Close to the beach, food, and entertainment, also walking distance to Santruce where there are two Art Museums to visit. Also walking distance to Ocean park area (1.5) miles where there are a few nice places to dine and entertain.,The hotel is located in a safe area for sure, not once was I "a worried traveler" !!

The staff was very very very helpful and full of suggestions on how to make my stay more enjoyable.
The complimentary breakfast was perfect and more than enough to get you going for the day, with hard boiled eggs, ham, croissants, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, juice, toast, coffee, all was excellent.

Very clean and comfortable rooms, small cable t.v., free internet (great signal), safe in the room as well as a desk. and parking for 4 cars in front, If that lot is full than you can either find street non metered parking or have 24 access in a paid lot for $13.00 a night, one block away. Jacuzzi tub and nice shower.

I can not stress how nice the staff was, even before I arrived they would email me back with my questions answered immediately. I will ONLY stay here next time I go to Puerto Rico. Just email me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: I had room 9 and it was quiet and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank foodwriter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.0 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
2.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Property: Coral Princess Hotel
Address: 1159 Ave Magdalena | Condado, San Juan 00907-1710, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing