We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy restaurant with good music”

Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano
Ranked #92 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice cozy restaurant with good music”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This small restaurant in Old San Juan has a nice atmosphere that makes you feel good and relaxed. It is cozy. Service is excellent. The food was good. We had a very good broccoli cream to start with. The fish, grouper, was good but it had an egg flavor at the end that wasn't attractive to us. The chocolate cake didn't have a fresh appearance or taste. At the end they gave us a drink made with passion fruit and guava that was very good. I would like to return to try red meats, specially the lamb. Oh, and the jazz music was just great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arecibo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    56
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, carli should be embarrassed”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stopped by with my wife on a Thursday night & was encouraged by the Waitress to leave as they were understaffed. We checked inside ans it was busy & we were told to have a seat outside. We sat & ten minutes later a waitress came by to say she would be back with Menus. Another 15minutes went by and no one came back to our table or the one next to us who arrived at the same time. Finally, I webt inside to ask for Menus & was told it would becat least 20minutes to get a drink and over one hour for food as they were very busy. Seriously? The outside had over six empty tables and inside was busy but it is small. She suggested we go somewhere else and appeared very stressed out. I doubt we will go back although the mysic sounded great. Shame on you Carli

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2eatPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Concert by your table”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Carli is a local musician who prides in his extraordinary past as member of the Beach Boys. Coming of age has brought him to create this small and inviting bistro in Old San Juan. Overlooking the bay, this place is always bustling with locals and tourists alike. The menu is exquisite and fresh, the music played by Carli on his grand piano will transport you. Coming back for more is what you'll want.

Have a chat with Carli and have some fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sajoruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This restaurant definitely lives up to all of the outstanding reviews it received on tripadvisor. We ate dinner there on our last night in Puerto Rico and it did not disappoint. This restaurant is small and intimate with only about 12 tables and a small bar. The jazz musc is a wonderful treat and staff was great. We got the last two seats at the bar, and the bartender made our experience so enjoyable. He even made his own after dinner drinks for everyone to try. This is a restaurant not to be missed, but make reservations! I would also suggest the shrimp and pumpkin risotto and chocolate creme brulee. Both are out of this world!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax,VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant made the top 10 on Trip Advisor and every other web site we checked. It did not disappoint. Everyone's food was outstanding and the ambiance with the music was great. It is very small so make reservations. The bartender who created his own drink that he served to everyone for free was very entertaining. An overall great experience. I was there with my daughter who is in her early 30's and she loved it also. The owner, Carli (Carlos) played piano with the Beach Boys and some other bands. A fun time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DOJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing