We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muzzarella

Muzzarella
Ranked #50 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Great find and the concierge at our hotel said it was her favorite restaurant. Can't go wrong. Meat cool to perfection. Staff friendly.

Helpful?
Thank mhwea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    65
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wow, WOW, WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor, so we made a reservation, and it was a good thing, because it was PACKED on a Sunday night. We were probably the only tourists there, because it was packed with locals. Because we had a reservation, we got right in. You should know, this place is NOT off the beaten path...it was a $25 can ride, each way from the Caribe Hilton....but you know what? It was worth every penny, even with the cab factored in. Service was INCREDIBLE....not only did our waiter take excellent care of us, but EVERYONE, from the manager, to the chef, to other waiters made sure we had everything we needed. The food? Honestly...one of the best meals we had in San Juan. We ordered a filet mignon, that was beyond tender, and incredibly tasty. It was $23 dollars, and it was better and bigger than the one we had at Morton's for $60. We had a seafood risotto that was simply incredible. So tasty. We had great apps (get their homemade fried mozzerella)...lots of wine and beer..and the entire check was cheaper that anything we had in San Juan, and that includes the $50 we spent for the cab. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE. You know you scored, when the locals pack the restaurant. I think we were the only tourists there. GREAT, GREAT job, Muzzarella!! Amazing, authentic find in San Juan!! LOVED IT!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Energize your taste buds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

It took us four attempts to get into this neighborhood Restaurant to eat since we has not made reservations. It was always packed during week nights. Once we made it in, and put our taste buds at work, WOW, it was heavenly. This place is run by two brothers who used to toil for another Argentinian Restaurant, who decided to hang their own shingle! The offerings are just more than Churrascos and other south continental fare. Start with one, two or three daily appetizers from the blackboard . We had short rib tacos (twice), dumplings and empanadas. Then we went after an artisanal pizza with a jar of refreshing sangria. We had to skip on the heavy entrees because of all the wonderful apps. The servers are par for the course and do buy a bottle of the fiery red sauce made by one of them. We have placed this rest in our best list of eateries in PR. And that is not a small feat. We will be returning to try the grilled steak offerings, which are broiled in a charcoal grill via direct tv. You will see what we mean when you visit the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caribislandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, original, and authentic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We found this restaurant through another review on TripAdvisor and decided to try it out. The cab driver was not familiar with the restaurant, so make sure that you have the address handy to give if you are taking a taxi. We got lucky with getting a table, as we arrived closer to closing time and most of the dinner rush had already left. Make sure you make a reservation to guarantee your spot, as you will not be disappointed. We had delicious steak, chicken, and sausage skewers with grilled vegetables to start - this was some of the most tender and juicy meat I've had kebob-style. Then, we ordered a four-cheese pizza and the risotto special (ribeye and avocado made with red wine) which were like nothing we had ever tried before. The pizza was made in a brick oven that had a camera on it so you could see the pizzas cooking from the restaurant. It had layers of cheese, including brie, that melted perfectly on top of a rectangular, crispy crust. The red wine spin on the risotto complemented the ribeye perfectly and the avocado added a fresh touch. We were stuffed by the end of our meal that we weren't going to get dessert, but the server suggested we try their dessert special which was basically layers of pastry with custard and ice cream, and we couldn't resist. The meal was exquisite from start to finish and it is a do not miss when visiting San Juan!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is not the only one restaurant that I experienced in Puerto Rico, but it is definitely the best one. Because of this restaurant and our good and patient guy Osiris, I finally fall in love with risotto which is a kind of new food to me. Thank Osiris, although I allergy to many ingredients, he still gave me the best taste of this food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lijin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muzzarella also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Muzzarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing