We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Manolo

Casa Manolo
Ranked #156 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had some of the best meals in this excellent restaurant. The ambience is average but the food and service were both excellent. Order the mero if you like fish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYViajador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
“Best little restaurant in SJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I have been going at least one a month for the last year...you can't go wrong with Manolo. The service is great and the food is superb. The decor is a little outdated but once you try the food you won't care...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soraya1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Santurce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've been travelling to San Juan to visit my husband's family for over 20 years. We used to go to Pikayo, Compostela, etc.. For the past 3 years, we have dined at Casa Manolo at least once during my stay. The food is top notch and more affordable than the other restaurants mentioned. The atmosphere is more casual and it is definitely suitable for families. Manolo is the owner and chef. The fish is excellent; the churrasco is out of this world as are all the appetizers and homemade bread. Take a cab here from your hotel or drive and park in the free lot across the street and I promise you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Santurce's Little Secret Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Santurce is a part of San Juan that most tourists don't know exist. It's just 2 blocks away from Bellas Artes, so it's a wonderful place to dine before or after a concert. The owner is Manolo, a friendly Spanish gentleman, who is also the chef. The night I went, he recommended the Lacon (pork shank), braised in a rasberry sauce. It was delicious! My dining partner had the pulpo a la gallega (octupus Gallician style), and we also had the sancocho a la crema (cream of vegetable soup). All fabulous! I highly recommend this outstanding restaurant. Prices are quite reasonable for what you receive. If it were in the Condado, you would probably pay 3x as much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traviata5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best "lacón" I have ever eaten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went there for the first time about a week ago, with 5 others. Chef/owner/waiter Manolo's personal and enthusiastic attention and service were outstanding. His description of the dishes on the Menu to help us choose made us so enthused about each item that it was very difficult to decide! When the decisions wete made and the food arrived, every one loved his or her choice, except someone who ordered a steak and did not get it as rare as he wanted it. I ate the best "lacón" ham I ever tasted, prepared in a different way; not the usual boiled-with-boiled-cabbage dish. The physical conditions and appearance of the place need a lot of improvement, though. Substantial refurbishing and decorating are overdue. Overall, a pleasant experience that I am looking forward to repeat.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mystere22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Manolo also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casa Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing