We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Turkish food”

Ali Baba Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New york
Level Contributor
358 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great Turkish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

After having PR food for a few days, we decided to try something different. This turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The service was quick but not rushed.

We had the Baba Gonash as appetizer. The bread that came with it was amazing. I had the lamb meatballs and my friend had the beef tips. both tasted good and tender.

It was in the Condado area and it was difficult to find parking!!

The restaurant get crowded after 7 pm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    139
    49
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Chicken kabob was awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went with 3 friends so we shared.

babaganosh
hummus
taboule

mousaka
chicken kabob
lamb kabob
lamb meatballs

It was all very fresh and very tasty and served with freshly baked lavash bread. The service was fast and very courteous. We had a very pleasant experience there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPFP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We went in to have dinner. Nice atmosphere, the restaurant is tucked in behind a Starbucks. The food pretty good, we tried the chicken and a lamb dish, the lamb was really good, meat was very tender and it was served with a layer of pita topped with lamb meat and tomato sauce. We also tried the baklawa, which was OK. Nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank tasyed786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
“Best Turkish Restaurant in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is THE Best Turkish restaurant that I have ever been to. Delicious and authentic food! Lahmacun was great. You must try Baklava as well. The service and food was perfect. It is also great atmosphere with authentic decorations!!! Very friendly staff and cook. I strongly recommend this wonderful restaurant. If you are in San Juan, Puerto Rico, this is the place that you MUST visit, eat, and enjoy !!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NuriYilmaz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Authentic turkish cuisine right on ashford ave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Must confess that I have eaten here several times in the past but just now got around to writting one of these reviews. Ali baba has quickly become my favorite restaurant in the san juan/ condado area. The chef and kitchen do a tremendous job preparing each item, serving up treats that are both rich in flavor and quality. They use fresh organic ingredients in their cooking and boy can you taste the difference! The appetizers are good enough enjoy as a main course... But then you would be ignore the artistry of the main courses. Personal favorites (at the moment) are the adana kebab in tomatoe and yogurt sauce, the kofte casserole (ground lamb meatballs in a signature turkish tomatoe sauce, with mozzarella cheese baked on top, truly a great dish) and of course, the mixed grill. From the appetizers, the imam bayildi (chopped eggplant dip with a yogurt sauce on top), and lamachun have recently caught my fancy. It's the type of place you can go multiple times and always try something different, the quality of the whole menu really can not be praised enough. Highly recommend if you are visiting the area or even if you are a local looking for a new place to try. It's a small rest, and it gets pretty packed on a regular basis. Best to call if your planning on eating after 8 o'clock. So glad I was able to fund this place, it really a welcome change from the rest of the cuisine you usually find near that area.
Ohh, almost forgot. You must order the Baklava, an inspired treat made from scratch by the chef himself. Fantastic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islapr767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ali Baba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing