We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem in Condado, San Juan”

Ali Baba Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Condado, San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nestled back off the street in the Condado Village Plaza sits this wonderful Turkish restaurant called Ali Baba. While the name is rather common for Middle Eastern eateries, the experience is anything but. Chef/owner Suleyman Yilmaz, originally from Ankara, starts off with a specialty pita that resembles an 18" loaf of Italian bread but is hollow like a pita. Always served fresh from the oven it was just the start of a top notch meal. I had the lamb souvlaki plate served with traditional Turkish cabbage and carrot salad, potatoes and pilaf rice. I ordered the lamb medium and it was grilled to perfection. Of particular note was that the lamb was the finest quality I had experienced in a restaurant in my 30+ years of enjoying Middle Eastern/Mediterranean food. If you find yourself in Puerto Rico, make the trip to Condado, San Juan, sit in the outdoor patio and treat yourself to a fantastic meal courtesy of Chef Yilmaz – you won’t soon forget it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wmchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    139
    49
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bristow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Vegetarian Moussaka was amazing, so was the humas and lovely large homemade pita. Tiny place but so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect way to celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Dinner for 6 of us as a birthday celebration. The wait staff was amazing and good natured, the atmosphere hip and romantic. Think aqua chairs, red walls, glass light fixtures. And the food! One of the best meals we had all week, and although we had a vegetarian, 2 that had never tried ME food, everyone found something and it was all amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 69JM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food with lots of vegetarian choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited Ali Baba with friends. Ali Baba is located down a hallway and easy to miss, but worth finding. I am vegetarian wannabe, but I went with meat eaters. We all found good food. We had hummus as appetizer, I had the spinach and cheese filled bread (the menu compares it to quesadillas, but it was so much better than that). My husband had lamb kebob with mint and yogurt. Good portions, well seasoned, nice accompaniments. We all agreed we would go back sooner rather than later!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

had dinner there the other night - great falafel (be aware of the super garlicky dipping sauce - its very good but if you are not used to a lot of garlic, steer clear).
then ordered the moussaka and the lamb on the sizzling plate. the moussaka was very good - the lamb was a little dry.
the home-made flat bread is divine.
all in all, a great meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olablu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ali Baba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing