We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pastor Burrito Supremo”
Review of Bartola

Bartola
Ranked #491 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarnia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pastor Burrito Supremo”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This place had the best burrito I have ever had, and I've had plenty. It is true that it is not a traditional Mexicana with sombreros and mariachis but the food was awesome. The burrito wasn't on the menu, you have to just ask for it, but Pastor Burrito is the way to go! The fish tacos(which the wife had) and the fried cheese were also fantastic choices. Also, Magna beer, a local premium brew was quite delightful!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    13
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Copying another reviewer...fish tacos I love. But Churros are amazing!!! No bartender so drinks are inconsistent. Love the place!!

Helpful?
Thank Raquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish tacos (tacos de pescado) and the churros are a must!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

If you don't want to wait 45 minutes for a table plus another 15 minutes for someone to take your order, don't bother going to Bartola. The place is really really small. We didn't mind much since we were in good company and were already drinking margaritas. The fish tacos were absolutely delicious!! And the churros soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shumonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try it if you like different”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely not a traditional mexican restaurant, period, but that is not bad! I was surprised by The cozy, vinagre decore, The ambiance inspired comfort. Although it is a smal salón, you can feel confortable. The margaritas at my favorite, made with natural juice, not with a Margarita mixer. The fried chesse is good well. Chichen and fish tacos are very good, chesse is optional so you can have a tasty mexican dinner without The guilt! Definitely The churros with dulce de leche are Awsome. Parking, not The best, although valer parking guys are vey accomodating. Go early or abolid The 7:30 to 8:30 time frame, There is no tables usually at that time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mexican?”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Clean, sleek, modern..yeah, but not traditional mexican. I am not looking for mexican sombreros or mariachis; but there was something lacking. Its like a modern take on mexican food. If you like that, cool. Maybe I had my heart set on mexican comfort food that day....

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartola also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bartola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing