We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, big clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, big clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

There was a group of nine of us who spent 4 nights here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was great.
Rooms were big and clean. The rooms in the front of the hotel have great views, the smaller rooms in the back have windows that look out to the building next door. All rooms are bright and get great sunlight. Rooms have fridge and microwave and internet access. No noise from traffic or other rooms. Theres a nice outdoor terrace on the roof. Was a nice place for our large group to just hang out together, without having to be in someones room.
Parking was not a problem at all. There are a few spaces right out front, and more along the sides and back.
Easy to get to major roads, easy to get to Old San Juan from the hotel.
Breakfast is included. It's not much, muffins, danishes, and bread, enough to hold you over until lunch.
Everyone at the desk was very nice and helpful.
Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevilla2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    303
    133
    47
    78
See reviews for
155
290
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

My first experience with Hotel Miramar was an email, I had reached out to the hotel in regards to the local tours offered and received a reply within hours. Sylvia is amazing, not only she did reserve an amazing tour for us, but upgraded us, and gave us great insight on getting around in San Juan. She is a stellar employee and they are lucky to have her. This is an unforgetable trip for us because it was my boyfriend's 30th birthday but we also got engaged and Sylvia made it that much more special.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NewlyEngaged630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

I had a Caribbean tour with my friend, so we stayed almost every night another hotel...this was our last, and it was a great finish. The hotel is close to airport, but also not far from center. The staff is friendly, there was some mess with our reservation, but Fabian was nice and didnt let us waiting senseless long.
The room is good qualitiy, clean, has everything that u need...and the bed is awsome huge :)
A good example when price and quality meets.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NordicTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on either end of our Southern Caribbean cruise (we figured out that our airfare was about $400 cheaper if we flew in a day before the cruise and left the day after, so why not spend the money on extra vacation time?)

We made our reservations over 2 months in advance, but when we got there, our room was not ready yet (it had not been cleaned). Granted, they get a ot of cruise traveler turnover since San Juan is a major cruise port. We'd both forgotten our sunglasses, so we decided to take a walk 4 blocks down to the Walgreen's to get some and to give them time to clean the room, but when we got back, it still wasn't ready. The lady in charge of housekeeping was mortified and very apologetic. We took our laptop down to the lobby for awhile (they have free wifi buildingwide), and after a few minutes, they said our room was ready.

The room was a great value for the money. We chose it because it was the highest rated hotel at the most reasonable price on Tripadvisor. It was a large room with a king bed, desk, minifridge, microwave, armoire with a TV that had more channels than any hotel I've ever been in, and a safe inside the ample closet. The bathroom was small but perfectly serviceable.

The staff was very friendly and helpful (and bilingual, which was helpful since I've forgotten most of my Spanish). They helped us get cabs and gave us bus directions to Plaza Las Americas, the largest mall in the Caribbean. ( I don't recommend traveling by bus, however; it was confusing on the way there and ended up taking us over an hour to get there, and on the way back from the mall, we waited at the bus stop for over half an hour, and not one bus came. We ended up getting a cab to return to the hotel; we were running so late that we barely made our flight.) The hotel let us check in early and check out late, which was very convenient.

The most disappointing part was the continental breakfast. There was pretty much nothing there when we got downstairs, and about the time we started to leave, they refilled what little was there. Their offerings consisted of some mixed fruit, slices of French bread that were obviously left over from last night's dinner, some subpar pastries, juice (which was pretty good), and milk that had been sitting out (NOT in an ice bath) all morning. You had to ask for bread to make toast or for a bowl of Corn Flakes. The breakfast, which was one of the selling points of the hotel, DESPERATELY needs improvement.

The area the hotel is in felt quite safe day or night.There is a cafe across the street that is pretty good, and there are fast food chains like Dominos and Subway within walking distance. We got sandwiches one night and went to the roof of the hotel to eat, which gives nice views of the city and the water.

Other than the breakfast, I really had no problems with this small, boutique style hotel, and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

This hotel is not a glamour place, however, the friendly staff and the cozy environment makes up for it. The location is great and allows the visitor to travel to historic and entertainment areas with ease. The staff provides a tremendous amount of information for tours and the best way to get around in San Juan and the rest of the island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPacheco56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed at hotel for one night Apr 10, 2010. Went with a group of 18, family wedding on the cruise. The taxi fare is determined at the airport. I think it was around $3-$4/person, $1/luggage. Rooms were big and clean. Beds were comfortable. They had a microwave, fridge, tv. The room size varies. The rooms ending with 1 and 2 are the biggest/best (e.g. 201, 202). Those rooms also have the best view, a lot of daylight gets in. My room was facing the wall of the next building. The tv size also varies. My friend's room had the smallest tv! it was probably 13-15 inch haha. Ours was ~30 inch. If I remember correctly room 202 had the big flat screen tv.

Hotel has an elevator, but it's very slow. It's faster if you just take the stairs. The hotel has 7 floors. The roof has a couple of patio sets, very nice view. We brought drinks to the roof and hung out there all night. Gym is very tiny, you need a key from the front desk to get in. AC very good, very strong. windows do not have screens, but I don't remember any mosquitos, maybe it's because we're so close to the water, constant breeze. Ice machine in hallway. Two computers on the main floor with internet service (free). Internet connection for your laptop also free. I used their printer and they didn't charge me for the paper.

There's a big supermarket down the street (one minute walk). They sell alcohol in the supermarket. A few places to eat. There's one place across the street and down a bit from the hotel with this wicked dish. Can't remember the name of the restaurant, but it looks like a bar/foodcourt, they have a jukebox in there. Can't remember the name of the dish (spanish name), but the dish has chicken&veggies in a tomatoey sauce on top of fried plantains. Oh my god it was delicious! We had it for lunch and dinner! Their papaya shake is also good.

If you take a 15 minute walk, you'll reach a stretch of hotels lining the bay. They have a casino there, and also a noodle soup place! There are no nightclubs by the hotel, so it's pretty quiet at night.

Breakfast is free, it's located in the tiny restaurant in the hotel lobby. Not that much variety though; pastries, fruit, cookies, coffee, tea, juice.

For guests leaving for the cruise, they can check out 2pm. We decided to check out 11:30am and head to the cruise port. A lot of people were already there lining up to get on the ship. So it's not too early if you're wondering.

I highly recommend this hotel, especially for people that will be hoping on the Royal Caribbean cruise ships. Also Princess cruise ships were at that port too. There are two cruise ports/terminals, one is at Old San Juan, and one is on the other side of the bay; Pan American Pier. Royal Caribbean uses Pan American Pier.

This hotel is not for you if you want historic architecture, fancy shops and nightclubs. There were none of that around us.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chillthenrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

The hotel was great, Dont plan on having a parking space but they will take care of your car. Nice complementary breakfast. Should have fresh fruit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing