We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvements in logistics and services”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
A TripAdvisor Member
Negaunee, Mi
16
Reviewed February 9, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Miramar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 821 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
1
Reviewed January 22, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

A top to bottom renovation is nearly complete at the Excelsior and it will become a Marriott Courtyard as of Feb. 1 2006 or thereabouts. Some of the things I have to say about the hotel may soon be irrelevant. But for now - a nice, moderately priced hotel for business travelers in a good location, away from the tourist hustle bustle but still convenient to the Condado and Old San Juan. I stayed in room 905 which I think is one of the best lines (ie, rooms ending in 05) - they are quite a bit larger than most other rooms, and the other large rooms are close the elevator which is pretty noisy. The room has new, fairly attractive furniture but without any bells and whistles (see pictures). It was comfortable, clean, quiet, and had a nice view of the lagoon and the Condado.

The hotel has 2 restaurants - Augusto's which is an expensive European restaurant which gets good reviews and which I did not try, and a more casual French bistro right off the lobby that has an authentic bistro menu and quite good food. However, breakfast served in the bistro was quite basic and service left ALOT to be desired. Upon entering in the morning on 2 of 4 mornings, tables from the night before had not been cleared and it took a while just to get a table. The continental breakfast was either 2 pieces of toast or a few slices from a baguette with toast and jam, plus coffee and juice. I was surprised by the few choices for breakfast, and especially, by the somewhat surly service. That was my biggest gripe about the hotel. Otherwise, the service was good and staff friendly.

My room came with few amenities - there were a couple of bars of soap in the bathroom but no shampoos, shower caps, writing pads, etc. I imagine this will all change once the Marriott imprimatur is complete. I also noticed a couple of small shops about to open. There is also free Wi-Fi in the lobby. While I was there, the gym and the business center were both undergoing renovation and were closed. I did take a look at the pool which was small and hemmed in by walls - not very inviting and I would not come here with children as a result.

The street is on a humdrum busines strip close to a few fast food restaurants, a Marshall's, the post office, and a bank. Besides the fast food joints, I did not see other nice dining options that were walking distance, but cabs are always parked outside the hotel.

All in all, a decent, professionally run place and obviously getting better. I'd stay again if business brought me to San Juan.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARINACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brookly, New York
19
Reviewed January 4, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TIM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Poconos, Pennsylvania
15
Reviewed November 28, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
996 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $95 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing