We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient to Old San Juan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Reisterstown
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient to Old San Juan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We received a great deal on this hotel and needed someplace for 1 night before our flight after our cruise. This hotel is close to the cruise ports, a short bus ride to Old San Juan (bus was only $0.50 per person!) with plenty of restaurants to pick from in the immediate area. We received good customer service and our rate included breakfast coupons to a 24hr restaurant across the street. Food is excellent and waiters are bilingual!! The small lobby area and our room were clean. There was a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Free wifi was available. There were two computers available to print our flight boarding passes. The hotel was quiet. My one complaint is the LOUD AC UNIT. We had to cut it off at night so we could sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsprill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    294
    128
    46
    78
See reviews for
147
275
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Metro Region, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is located in a very good quite neighborhood, less than a mile from the Condado Area, where all the "in" restaurant, casinos and beaches are. There are good restaurants ( chinese, italian, artesian pizzas, peruvian, fusion, french, local, etc.) nearby, fine arts theathers ( the best), a supermarket, all at a walking distance. You can walk to the beach, 1/2 a mile away; or to el Condado, which is a mile away, or take a bus to go to the Old San Juan, to Plaza Las Americas Shopping City or anywhere you choose to go. The hotel is clean, and offers good service. Not ultra modern, a little dated, but it's O.K., and for the price, you can't ask for more. This is a good choice when you are in a budget, if you don't mind being a little off "where the action is", or just spending a couple of days. There is a nice top roof pool, and a fabulous view of the lagoon, specially at night. Also a good choice when you are doing medical tourism, a bussiness trip, or just shopping in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north, the lagoon. The higher the better; fantastic views of the Condado Lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST.JOHN'S ANTIGUA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

What can I say I wanted to hide away for a bit , so I could recoup abit and relax .so we planned a trip to P.R ...I searched for weeks looking for a hotel to stay at. I came across hotel miramar, I had mixed feelings because as a child this hotel was the first hotel I ever stayed at in san juan with my grandparents and believe me it was not to my liking . So the read the reviews and decided to take a chance. We only booked for one day just in case it did not meet our expectations. I was amazed to see how much this hotel had changed
When we got there it was still too early to check in , but Heidi at the front desk was very accommodating , she was pleasant explained the arrangements of our stay ..where we could go to eat visit bus system etc . A very friendly lady . The check in time was quick .we got to our room on the four floor and it was a big change to what I knew them to be like .. The decor was brighter it smelt better they gave u a tv and you did not have to rent one like in the old days . There was no big iron gate you had to walk thru to go to your rooms .. The bed room was very clean .You had a mini fridge microwave ,adequate for a couples getaway .The bathroom was nice, you were allowed to open the windows if you did not care for the Ac which was cool . The bed was comfortable no hairs on the mattress or grimmy looking bed sheets all clean and smelt like roses . House keepers were friendly and do their job very well they keep the hotelrooms looking lovely. The hotel has vending machines for both drinks and snacks for the late night munchies. ...
The fact that its a non smoking hotel made me so happy . Wifi is available too and the have a doc Centre were u can do some work send faxes print etc.
If you take the breakfast option at miramar you will get a 10 dollars voucher for two to eat at Los pinos café .it's an ok place food is not too shabby service is varied .

Getting to places from miramar is a breeze because the buses stop across the street from the hotel, price is 75 cents. there is a taxi stand on the corner from the hotel .

The street is full with restaurants to eat a supermarket a pharmacy movie cinema bars little hangouts so you can actually do stuff on the street . All in all this hotel was a great stay I did not regret my decision it's a quiet clean place to get away too . You will friend that you will meet all kind of ppl staying there for all kind of reasons cruise stop...family get away etc . Minimal noise . They keep you well informed at the front desk, the try their best to make you feel like your in a five star hotel .
This hotel is a great place to relax and build new memories

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SPENCEY268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

There with my family a few days last week. We did not have a car and relied on taxi and busses. The location was close to a couple good quick food options but the bistro was closed for remodel. There is a public beach close by.

Okay, the hotel. It is clean and well maintained. The beds were small and warn down but the rooms were clean and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and my wife and I spent evening sunsets on the roof watching night fall on San Juan. This place is no frills. It is meant for sleeping and being central to things. Wifi works, vending machines work, room quiet. will stay there again if back in San Juan.

One caution... As I understand it San Juan is in drought. My last morning there the water in my shower was rusty. I suspect we were drawing on water reserves, but when we left San Juan yesterday they were in tropical storm and were getting much needed rain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Very easy to get to Old San Juan by public transportation and to the airport by cab. The on sight restaurant was under renovation so we had to find somewhere else for breakfast. The room was comfortable but no view of the ocean only the old church next door. Wi-Fi and Computer easily accessible for printing boarding passes. I would stay there sgain

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel offered more than I expected! We used a Groupon for a night with breakfast included. The venue used for breakfast was a bit underwhelming, but the breakfast was decent. I loved the rooftop view! Clean and comfortable accommodations with friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peregrina711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here overnight to embark on a Carnival Cruise ship the next day. The staff were very helpful, friendly and laid back . The room was adequate for our needs, the only downside was there was no facilities for tea, coffee or food although there was a fair priced cold can drinks dispenser. I would recommend the 24/7 cafe across the road for all food/drinks.

Room Tip: Our room was front facing and a little noisy so a rear room would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Juan/City Center
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.7 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3103, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing