We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay before the cruise”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice stay before the cruise”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We chose this hotel for staying two nights before our cruise, searching for a better price and a decent hotel. We were surprised by the unreasonable high prices in San Juan hotels in the winter months. we finally selected Hotel Miramar with good reviews in a less than $200/night range. We were not dissapointed: the rooms are spacious, clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The day of our arrival, Jonathan at the desk managed to book us on an awesome trip to the rain forest (El Yunche National Park, greatly recommended). Thank you, Jonathan for your help! Our stay was very agreeable and we would gladly return to the island of Puerto Rico for more sightseeing, and probably returning to stay at Miramar Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    306
    133
    47
    79
See reviews for
157
293
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Needed a place to stay one night before a cruise. this was fine. Clean. OK location. Helpful staff. Phone was "missing." Bathroom sink handle broken. But otherwise ok. Very comfy bed and plentiful, fluffy pillows. In a strange area, but we found a great little bistro called Lima down the road on Ponce de Leon. It worked out to be an OK place for the night before a cruise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizGlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our room was large and very clean, a welcome experience after having been trapped in a tiny cruise ship cabin for 7 nights. Room 601 looked out across the lagoon, which was very scenic but a bit noisy since it also faced the main street, Ponce de Leon. We were there on a Sunday night and it was fairly noisy so I imagine a Saturday night would be much noisier much later into the night. If you like to turn in early ask for a room away from the main street. The beds were nothing to write home about, kind of hard, but the linens were clean and that's the important fact for us. I don't care how comfortable the bed is, if the linens are doubtful it's a total turnoff.

It worked well for us because there were lots of restaurants within walking distance, a market, drugstore, post office, etc. A safe neighborhood to be in, as far as I know. We never felt in danger walking around the area. There are a couple of abandoned buildings close by, most notably the Hotel Americana next door which is boarded up, but it's not a bad area. It's easy to catch a bus to Old San Juan, or catch a taxi to the airport.

We had excellent Wi-Fi in our room but we heard other guests complaining about their spotty reception. The elevator was a wee bit slow but this is not a surprise in an older building. I almost forgot to mention the terrace on the top of the hotel, which has wonderful views across the city. They have a nice gathering area, table & chairs, under a cover as well. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street for a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not getting a warm fuzzy feeling from Hotel Miramar and I'm not even there yet. Called today to confirm a reservation for 2/14 and was told to call back tomorrow because they're overbooked and I might not have a room. I reserved a room over 2 months ago and I have a confirmation number. I asked to speak with the manager and there's no manager there today, have to call back tomorrow.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tylexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before our cruise so we could see San Juan. The hotel does not have a lot of amenities, but it is clean and the staff is friendly. They have a bistro, but it was closed for renovation. Down side no coffee in the room or available in the hotel. If you are looking for a clean quiet hotel that is located close to old San Juan this is the one. I gave them a 3 due to the fact that their website did not mention the bistro being closed.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J0swanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Good for what you pay and close to a lot of attractions. The service was nice I just wish the beds had better blankets instead of the thin ones they use. Overall, we all liked the hotel and would stay again! Lots of things to do nearby like paddle board, go to Old San Juan and eat at cute restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DowntownJackieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

First time staying in Puerto Rico. The good reviews on here and the cheap price helped me choose the place. What can I say? For around 80 bucks a night it's extremely worth it. About a 10 min walk to cross the bridge and experience the Paddleboarding for 40bucks for 2 people, with gorgeous views. Right after, walk across the street to lounge out on the beach with crystal clear water. The free bus system from the hotel takes you right into old San Juan in which my girlfriend and I took the 50cent ferry to Cantanas for the Bacardi factory. Also a pretty large supermarket (pueblos) within a 5min walk from hotel (cheap alcohol). Took the elevator to the 7th floor walked up a couple stairs to the roof top. Had the whole area to ourselves with beautiful views. Played some music, drinks, sun, etc. all in all I'm well aware there are probably much nicer places to stay at but we were able to experience all this on a tight budget and live in paradise for a couple days. Highly recommended for the budget traveler

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pilotlife21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 48 in San Juan
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 48 in San Juan
982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing