We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Traveled to PR for 4 days. Loved my stay here. Grocery store, great resturants, Conado strip, small beach are within walking distance no more than 15min. Bus that goes to old San juan is right across the street for 0.75 cents. If you dont mind a short walk, this hotel's location will save you on cab fair. Hotel held my bags even after check out until my flight time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    277
    124
    46
    75
See reviews for
136
255
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights in the Hotel Miramar and I was favorably impressed. The staff was very friendly and competent. Iris did a good job of getting me checked in, and booking a tour for me. Right from the beginning, I felt comfortable in the Miramar.

The room was good sized and clean. The beds were comfortable. As mentioned by a few others, there was some noise from the hall, but wasn’t bad at all. A couple of things I really liked about the hotel were the roof top terrace (try it at sunset) and the location. It was an easy 75 cent bus ride to Old San Juan, and there are decent restaurants and a market just up the street. I didn’t go out during the late night, but doing the day and evening, I never had any issues about safety.

A couple of quick notes about San Juan. I had looked at taking the airport shuttle back and forth, but the taxi was cheaper. They charge a fixed rate depending on the area you are going to. For the Hotel Miramar, it was $18 each way to the airport.

English was spoken most places I went, but there were almost no signs in English and very little English on the menus.

Watch the harbor and try to avoid Old San Juan when the cruise ships are in. There were 5 ships the day I went, and the late morning, early afternoon crowds were pretty impressive. Eat lunch early or wait until later because the restaurants get pretty packed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acdfpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peopleton, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights following a Caribbean cruise. The hotel is reasonably priced, convenient and comfortable. We were out exploring San Juan and Puerto Rico most of the time so the lack of facilities in the hotel was not a problem. Rooms were comfortable. There was free internet access (why do cheaper hotels provide this and more expensive ones charge?). The Bistro attached to the hotel was expensive and not much used - we got breakfast for half the price over the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cricketer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Miramar, prior to catching a cruise.Our stay was a very positive experience.
The gentleman at the front desk was so friendly and helpful, and gave us tips about where to eat in the neighbourhood, local shopping, attractions to see etc.
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
We especially loved the rooftop patio. We bought some snacks and drinks at the grocery store one block up the street from the hotel, and then each evening sat up there and enjoyed the view and ambience while noshing.
The hotel is close to a local cafe, bank, grocery store, fast food establishments, movie theatre etc. We were surprised to read in some reviews that others felt the area around the hotel was unsafe. We felt exactly the opposite. Yes, it is true there are a couple of unoccupied buildings nearby, but we did not feel that because of this, our safety was compromised. There were always local people on the streets, out and about doing what normal citizens do in their own neighbourhood. This is an authentic area, unlike the artificial hotel zone a short walk away over the bridge. We felt blessed to have had a chance to stay here as opposed to staying at the hotel zone nearby.
The hotel was a great value, and we would certainly stay here again if we return to San Juan. Our taxi driver was familiar with the hotel and had no difficulty driving us here from the airport. While staying there, we used the local bus , caught at the bus stop nearby, to travel to the old town area. Very convenient.
We did go in to the little restaurant on the premises for coffee, drinks and dessert but we did not eat our meals there. As a result, we cannot comment on the eating establishment on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nutmeg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the second year we stayed at this hotel before cruising. Will I return for a third time, yes without a doubt. The price is reasonable, the hotel is clean and very quiet, what more can you ask. The staff is friendly and always ready to help.
Your can catch a bus in front of the hotel for 50 cents, which gets you in the old San Juan.
There are restaurants and stores with walking distance.
However service in the hotel restaurant is slow, can be improved.

Room Tip: Both times room was located on 6th floor, very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brasstess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

they have spacious and well kept rooms, friendly and helpful front desk. We enjoyed beautiful lagoon view from our room (401 and 402) and the rooftop terrence was heavenly for a after dinner chat. M3 bus stops nearby to old San Juan; Supermarket (Pueblo?)only three minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTripPlaningDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights prior to a cruise. The staff were very helpful and even helped us locate a rental vehicle for a single day-trip out to the rainforest. They stored our bags on the last day so we could go into old San Juan for morning and early afternoon, return to pick up our bags and head for the cruise ship.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Calgarytravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#15 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing