We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I can see why this hotel was voted Best small hotel in San Juan for 2012! We cruise out of San Juan several times a year and have stayed at various hotels that have been just so-so, and keep trying to find one that we really liked and would keep returning to. We have found that hotel with Hotel Miramar. Had great email communication with the hotel prior to and after making on-line reservations. The location can't be beat! Great for pre-cruise hotel. It is $20-25 taxi ride from the airport. Upon arrival, we were met by very friendly staff who insisted on helping us get our luggage inside. Very smooth check in. We had a deluxe room that was very spacious, with a refrigerator, microwave, very large bathroom, safe and desk. Very comfortable bed and flat screen TV. There is a shower/bath combination but no plug for the tub. The hot water was not extremely hot and not much water pressure, but it was adequate for a shower. A shower cap, shampoo and soap is provided, but hair conditioner, shower gel and lotion is not provided. There is a very small work out room on the 7th floor with weights, a weight bench, treadmill and elliptical. There is also a washer and dryer provided on the 7th floor. The view from the rooftop is nice, and also they have an area on the rooftop with lounge chairs in both the sun and shade, which makes it a nice place to relax.
There is a small bistro restaurant that adjoins the hotel, but we did not eat there. Breakfast was included in our room rate, which is served in the bistro restaurant and is a fixed menu of a choice of 2 eggs either scrambled or fried, toast, juice or coffee, and ham or bacon. Very simple, and service was a little slow, but adequate overall. If you walk out of the hotel and turn to the right, there is Los Pinos Cafe about a block down the street on the left that serves Puerto Rican and Cuban food. We ate there in the evening. Great Cuban sandwich! Prices extremely reasonable, but not the friendliest service, and very busy with lots of locals eating in and carrying out. Los Pinos stays open 24 hours. Would recommend if you want to try the local food. If you go out of the hotel and turn to the right, there is a Pueblo super market (they even have a deli serving hot food inside) on the right about 2 blocks away - just past Los Pinos but on opposite side of the street. There are also several small restaurants between Pueblo and the hotel, one being a Subway. If you walk out of the hotel and turn to the left, there is a Sizzler restaurant about 1/3 mile away. The local bus runs right in front of the Hotel Miramar and convenient if you want to go into Old San Juan.
Hotel Miramar is close to the cruise ports - both in Old San Juan and the Pan American pier, but closer to the Pan American and very close to the Convention Center.
The hotel called us a taxi and one arrived in less than 5 minutes and it is a very short taxi ride to the cruise pier. Loved everything about our stay at Hotel Miramar and will most definitely be staying here from now on when we return to San Juan for future cruises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeslieG_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    305
    133
    47
    78
See reviews for
157
290
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were recently in San Juan for a conference at the convention center so location was important to us. The Miramar was about a 15 min walk to the convention center, close to several restaurants and a grocery store and a beach so the location was great. The staff at the hotel was very helpful in giving directions and information. The rooms were large, and even had safes, fridges, and microwaves. The only negative was the water in the shower became cool after the first person showered, no more warm/hot water for a while. The service in the restaurant was extremely slow but we soon realized that this is the norm in San Juan. We had a lot of slow food service but the food was good. They even allowed us to store luggage before we checked in and again after we checked out. Overall this is a great option for being close to the convention center but cheaper than the big name hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philliesfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to Condado beach and San Juan beach.0-15 min walk. Close to conventioncentere.
Nice room, clean with frigde and microwave. Very friendly at the reception. Breakfast very simple if included. Every day the same choice. But this was no problem for the 4 nights we stayed there.
Very close to the public bus to Old San Juan, just 0.75 ct for the ride.
Roof terrace has a nice view, with chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a wonderful stay proir to boarding a cruise in San Juan. The location was wonderful to get around and close to the cruise ports. The service at the hotel was wonderful. Walter went over and above to make for a comfortable stay. He was helpful even prior to getting there as I called for assistance a week prior to starting the vacation. This hotel rocks because of great people like Walter doing everything possible for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Miramar the night before our cruise. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, eager to please and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very large and clean with good facilities e.g. a microwave, fridge, safe. The view from the roof terrace is amazing. Very close to the port if you are going on a cruise. There is a supermarket a few minutes walk away which was handy. Would stay again if cruising.

Room Tip: Ask for a view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the second time that I've stayed at Hotel Miramar. It's affordable and the staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and the view from the rooftop is fantastic. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the beach. It's close to Old San Juan and Condado. There is also a great restaurant across the street called Casita MiraMar and next to the hotel. You can park your car rental at the hotel's parking space in the back. They will park it for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were at The Miramar and can repeat what most people have said about Walter (and everyone else) being helpful. Ditto the rooms being clean and the view from the roof. The PCs were free and was hardly used by anyone else. I don't think that we heard another guest while we were in our room. The buses that go to old San Juan are cheap and about every 8 minutes during the week. At the bus station you can get various free coaches to most of the small city. Puerto Rico claims to have the happiest population in the world - we never got any form of grumbling from anyone when we asked endless stupid tourist questions.
The best thing about Hotel Miramar is the location. Anyone who thinks that it is in a slum district is a snob! There is a cafe slightly to the right, on the other side of the road which appears to be open 24 hours a day. Not only does it have relatively cheap breakfasts with brilliant coffee, but it was also possible to have a decent, three course dinner there for about $20. If you turn right out of the hotel, and then go up the road by the side of the church there is a really good Puerto Rico eatery. It may be only open for about four evenings a week, and when you do order it might take about half an hour for your food to appear, but it is worth it. By comparrison we went to the hotel district of San Juan on the other side of the lagoon for the day. There was no local, cheap, supermarket and eating out was strictly American fast-food chains or relatively expensive local food. Casa Lola provided very tasty, authentic food, but it was quite expensive. The Miramar equivalent was cheaper, had far bigger portions and appeared to be packed out with locals. If there were any complaints about the hotel it was that the TV kept breaking down and there isn't really much room to put your clothes (latter point not made by me) although these are hardly reasons to ignore the numerous benefits that Hotel Miramar offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bis+Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#14 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3106, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing