We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better and Cheaper Than The Hotels on TheOther Side Of The Lagoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Better and Cheaper Than The Hotels on TheOther Side Of The Lagoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were at The Miramar and can repeat what most people have said about Walter (and everyone else) being helpful. Ditto the rooms being clean and the view from the roof. The PCs were free and was hardly used by anyone else. I don't think that we heard another guest while we were in our room. The buses that go to old San Juan are cheap and about every 8 minutes during the week. At the bus station you can get various free coaches to most of the small city. Puerto Rico claims to have the happiest population in the world - we never got any form of grumbling from anyone when we asked endless stupid tourist questions.
The best thing about Hotel Miramar is the location. Anyone who thinks that it is in a slum district is a snob! There is a cafe slightly to the right, on the other side of the road which appears to be open 24 hours a day. Not only does it have relatively cheap breakfasts with brilliant coffee, but it was also possible to have a decent, three course dinner there for about $20. If you turn right out of the hotel, and then go up the road by the side of the church there is a really good Puerto Rico eatery. It may be only open for about four evenings a week, and when you do order it might take about half an hour for your food to appear, but it is worth it. By comparrison we went to the hotel district of San Juan on the other side of the lagoon for the day. There was no local, cheap, supermarket and eating out was strictly American fast-food chains or relatively expensive local food. Casa Lola provided very tasty, authentic food, but it was quite expensive. The Miramar equivalent was cheaper, had far bigger portions and appeared to be packed out with locals. If there were any complaints about the hotel it was that the TV kept breaking down and there isn't really much room to put your clothes (latter point not made by me) although these are hardly reasons to ignore the numerous benefits that Hotel Miramar offers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bis+Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    291
    125
    46
    77
See reviews for
145
265
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Walter was a great help!!!!! He helped out as far as locations!!!!!! Points of interest he's a cool guy!!! The location was good had a lot of shops n restaurant in the location!!!!!! It's real close to OLD SAN JUAN!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Delicious, fantastic, amazing, wonderful all these words are about Puerto Rico and Miramar hotel!

It' s the honor for me to stay here. To be here, to live here!

The staff is very professional,the reception do the best for tourists..
I would like to thank Walter! He helped me with all my requests and answered for all my questions.

I would like to recommend this hotel to everyone.
Cheers, my friends, you are great.

Best regards,
Alexander
St. Petersburg, Russia

Room Tip: Standart room is great, no comments, just good surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221012Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

First off I had a guaranteed room reserved for a king bed, they over booked and we spent 30 minutes getting our room after 13 hours of flying, upon arriving at our room we noticed our bottom sheet was covered in stains and looked generally nasty, we striped it off. The rest of the room looked clean but smelled of so much bleach it gave us a head ache. We awoke to Jack hammers and saws right next to our room after about 4 hours of sleep and were never informed the hotel is under construction, the hotel said they could move us to another room with double beds but if we wanted another king room(which we paid for and cost extra) we would have to move for a third time that evening. I ask what floor we would be on and if the construction would affect us and I was told "of course you will hear it, its a building". After that rude comment I immediately called Expedia and booked a room at another hotel on Ashford which was a way better location not in the ghetto. All in all a horrible experience and I will never stay there again, spend your money else where. Rude staff, nasty rooms and the whole place is a noisy construction zone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ifitrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Glendale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose to stay in this Hotel because #1 it's cheap, #2 it's convenient, #3 it's near dowtown (and cruise port), and finally.. there is an awesome restaurant just across the street that is so popular with locals you have to check out why. My suggestion?, try the grouper!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khristetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I went back to this hotel bcause of the excellent service. At front desk, Walter was very helpful and attentive to whatever need we had. I will recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to b attended in the best way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My daughter and I were at this hotel this past week and had a great experience, the staff was so nice and helpful, but especially Walter who works at the front desk, he is a great person.
The hotel is nice and very clean, recently renovated, price is convenient and the location is ideal, the view from the top balcony is amazingly beautiful. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#15 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 606 Ave Ponce de Leon | Miramar, San Juan 00907-3103, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing