We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico
Ranked #6 of 129 Tours in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Charlie's Custom Tours Puerto Rico is a father and son team specializing in providing unique transportation comforts and overview throughout the main island. Maximum occupancy eight (8) per vehicles (2). Registered Super Host and endorsed by Puerto Rico Tourism Company. Please take a quick peek at web site. It will answer many questions.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We’re a family of 5 in San Juan the day before our cruise. I did a little research and found Charlie’s Custom Tours. We had a great time with Carlos, he is so energetic and knowledgeable. We visited the Forts, enjoyed Presidents walk, cruising the streets of Old San Juan, lunch at road side eatery, great food, mask gallery and a cave in Loiza then a coastal drive back to San Juan. The bad part, the 6 hours went by so fast. Thank You for a great day in San Juan.

Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hola Mike
We packed in a lot in them 6 hours... I too wised we could have gone on and on but that boat waits for no one... I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit... Showing off Puerto Rico is just invigorating for me.. There's no switch for turning me off (LOL)... Muchas Gracias for your kind words... CCTPR Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
There are newer reviews for Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 562 of 754 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of 8 (ages 13 to 45) booked the El Yunque tour and could not have been more pleased. Carlos was an awesome tour guide who was professional, knowledgeable, and most importantly passionate about his job. We happen to be in PR when a tropical storm threatened so we were confronted with an unexpected challenge as the Gov't decided to close El Yunque. Carlos knew exactly where to take us for a shortened, but incredible, rainforest experience, then improvised the rest of the afternoon to provide a private beach and cave experience. You will not go wrong with Carlos. By the end of your tour you will consider him a friend. Muchas Gracias Carlos

Thank Jvann100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hola Javnn100
There's more than one way to skin a cat in Puerto Rico when Mother Nature is not kind... We have four more rain forest to choose from... Not ruled by the federal government... I must admit even more impressive than El Yunque when you through in coffee and caves... We had a great time.. Your new AMIGO always... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family spent two solid days with Carlos and it was the highlight of our vacation. We have two childre (10 and 7) and wanted to expose them to more than just a beachside hotel. Carlos took us on the El Yunque and the "ulitmate PR tour" and it was wonderful.

The kids enjoyed the hike through the rainforest and the tour through Ponce, Cueva Ventana, and Cueva del Indio, but be forewarned - if you are uncomfortable with heights the caves may not be for you. The eateries we visited were top notch. My son is still raving about the ribs, and is asking me to find a recipe.

All in all, I can't say enough nice things regarding our tours with Carlos, We left feeling like family members and will definitely book him again when we get back to PR.

1  Thank Robert380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hola Robert
We have to admit.. After spending two wonderful days together... Feeling like family is an understatement (LOL)... Tell the kids and Carol, Uncle Charlie can't wait for my new nephew & niece return... Muchas Gracias for sharing, CCTPR Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews about Carlos and 'Charlie', we had to try it. The reviews were totally accurate. From the second we met Carlos, we had a great 5 hour tour. It was by far, the best private tour we have ever had. Carlos has an amazing personality and was a lot of fun. He amazed us with his knowledge of San Juan and showed us parts that a regular tour wouldn't go. His van, 'Charlie'. is a state of the art touring system. Upon returning home, a 160 picture disc of our tour highlights was in our mailbox and emailed as well. An awesome finishing touch. We will be back to see Carlos again in the near future. Highly recommended!

1  Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hola Al
I can't be more elated reading I made top self in your travels... Even more enthusiastic about your next visit to the Island of Enchantment.... I've got plenty more up my sleeve.. Waiting with open arms... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have done several tours while on cruises and this is surely at the top of the list!! We were picked and treated like royalty all day. Carlos is very knowledgeable and gave us so much information about the history and culture of Puerto Rico. The video screen mounted above gave us all a perfect view of where we were,the van is customized to ensure everyone has plenty of room,Carlos took many pictures of us on our tour and forwarded them to our computer the same day. He also put them in a dvd for us. Carlos thinks of everything--we had drinks, snacks,lunch and a perfectly wonderful day. DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR

1  Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hola, Janette
Having that WOW factor is essential in any BIZ... I'm so happy I was able to deliver... We had a great time. Charlie (Van) and little thinking out of the box goes along way... PIC's are just as fun for me taking as it is hearing, finally NO one's left out (LOL)... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing