We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best”

Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico
Ranked #5 of 127 Tours in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlie's Custom Tours Puerto Rico and Super Host services specialize in providing unique transportation comforts and overview throughout the main island. Maximum occupancy eight (8). Registered Super Host and endorsed by Puerto Rico Tourism Company. Please take a quick peek at web site. It will answer many questions.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of 8 (ages 13 to 45) booked the El Yunque tour and could not have been more pleased. Carlos was an awesome tour guide who was professional, knowledgeable, and most importantly passionate about his job. We happen to be in PR when a tropical storm threatened so we were confronted with an unexpected challenge as the Gov't decided to close El Yunque. Carlos knew exactly where to take us for a shortened, but incredible, rainforest experience, then improvised the rest of the afternoon to provide a private beach and cave experience. You will not go wrong with Carlos. By the end of your tour you will consider him a friend. Muchas Gracias Carlos

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jvann100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hola Javnn100
There's more than one way to skin a cat in Puerto Rico when Mother Nature is not kind... We have four more rain forest to choose from... Not ruled by the federal government... I must admit even more impressive than El Yunque when you through in coffee and caves... We had a great time.. Your new AMIGO always... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    5
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't say enough!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family spent two solid days with Carlos and it was the highlight of our vacation. We have two childre (10 and 7) and wanted to expose them to more than just a beachside hotel. Carlos took us on the El Yunque and the "ulitmate PR tour" and it was wonderful.

The kids enjoyed the hike through the rainforest and the tour through Ponce, Cueva Ventana, and Cueva del Indio, but be forewarned - if you are uncomfortable with heights the caves may not be for you. The eateries we visited were top notch. My son is still raving about the ribs, and is asking me to find a recipe.

All in all, I can't say enough nice things regarding our tours with Carlos, We left feeling like family members and will definitely book him again when we get back to PR.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hola Robert
We have to admit.. After spending two wonderful days together... Feeling like family is an understatement (LOL)... Tell the kids and Carol, Uncle Charlie can't wait for my new nephew & niece return... Muchas Gracias for sharing, CCTPR Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“100% Satisfaction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews about Carlos and 'Charlie', we had to try it. The reviews were totally accurate. From the second we met Carlos, we had a great 5 hour tour. It was by far, the best private tour we have ever had. Carlos has an amazing personality and was a lot of fun. He amazed us with his knowledge of San Juan and showed us parts that a regular tour wouldn't go. His van, 'Charlie'. is a state of the art touring system. Upon returning home, a 160 picture disc of our tour highlights was in our mailbox and emailed as well. An awesome finishing touch. We will be back to see Carlos again in the near future. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hola Al
I can't be more elated reading I made top self in your travels... Even more enthusiastic about your next visit to the Island of Enchantment.... I've got plenty more up my sleeve.. Waiting with open arms... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY A WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have done several tours while on cruises and this is surely at the top of the list!! We were picked and treated like royalty all day. Carlos is very knowledgeable and gave us so much information about the history and culture of Puerto Rico. The video screen mounted above gave us all a perfect view of where we were,the van is customized to ensure everyone has plenty of room,Carlos took many pictures of us on our tour and forwarded them to our computer the same day. He also put them in a dvd for us. Carlos thinks of everything--we had drinks, snacks,lunch and a perfectly wonderful day. DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hola, Janette
Having that WOW factor is essential in any BIZ... I'm so happy I was able to deliver... We had a great time. Charlie (Van) and little thinking out of the box goes along way... PIC's are just as fun for me taking as it is hearing, finally NO one's left out (LOL)... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville,MA
1 review
“First Rate Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We chose to tour with Carlos after reading all these wonderful reviews and our family was not
disappointed. Carlos lived up to his reputation of making the tour as personal as we wanted, as well as sharing his knowledge and recommendations. His van was as customized as his tour!
We rode in comfort through the rainforest, which was our prime focus, as well as a private beach stop afterward. His personal attention to detail in taking pictures of the sites and of our family made the tour extra special. We received over 160 pictures of our excursion with Carlos when we checked our email upon arriving home. So may we echo all previous accolades of Charlie's Custom Day Tours when we highly recommend him to you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCTPR, Owner at Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hola Kathleen
The entire family including ME!!! had a BLAST... From Yunque rain forest to a dip in blue beach, Luquillo and a adrenaline rush for all that we'll keep to our selves (LOL)... What I can say is that the HERO!!! of the day was one of us and it wasn't me... Beaches in PR are public but having private access to one never hurts (LOL)... Muchas Gracias, CCTPR Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Custom Day Tours Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing