We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way past its prime”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Way past its prime”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here Jan 19- 21/2013. I'm not a fussy person, but my reaction was "What a dump!" Everywhere you looked, things needed repair or replacement. The elevators were downright scary, dingy, dirty, not stopping level with the floor bumping and grinding. I looked at the elevator inspection cert and it had expired in 2011.
I thought the price was outrageous for the poor quality rooms when you could move to the hotel next door, a MUCH nicer place for less money. Friends who were staying here did just that for $30 less per night. We would have as well, but didn't find out about it until after the 12 oclock checkout time
On the other hand, the staff was great. Very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olphart43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    118
    89
    48
    24
See reviews for
86
109
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location is good like 5 minutes walk to Condado Beach. The room they gave us has a partial view of the Condado beach that was really good. You can view Laguna del Condado as well from the hotel. The amenities were basic with a large LCD TV. We used our choice hotel points so it was completely free that's even better. Complimentary breakfast was typical and served in a bar. Everything there were a bit dated but still in good shape. Pool was nice and they let us used even after their posted time. We took taxi from and to the airport, both time their driving speed was way too fast compare to US standard. The hotel prices in San Juan are in general expensive so if you have points to use that will save you a lot. Public transportation (bus and free trolley) was not reliable and traffic can be bad too, you may wait a long time sometimes. Walking may take shorter time especially in old town and El Morro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HouAndLee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way back to the states. Our room was fine no problems had plenty of coffee and towels. Bus line to Old San Juan was around the corner. Perfect shopping district. The breakfast room has very good food. The hostess was on top of everything. Being a Choice card holder I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amdfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel appeared clean, the breakfast is reasonable, the pool is small but our daughter enjoyed it. The location is great. We had two issues. The room had no ventilation and a smell. AND Room 405 has BEDBUGS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 300mmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We had to come to P.R. last minute because my father-in-law died suddenly. This was the only hotel available during the week between Christmas and New Years. The room is small. Only a few outlets in the room worked so it was hard to charge our phones at the same time. The bathrooms were so small that we could not put our toiletries there. One hook in the bathroom for towels, etc. The included continental breakfast was so bad that we ate out every day. We checked out after only 2 nights and decided to stay with relatives. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

before i begin, let me just mention that i never write reviews. i am not a picky person and all i expect from a budget hotel is for it to be safe and clean. the location is great.. right off of the main strip with plenty of stores, restaurants, hotels and even two government owned public beaches within walking distance. there are so many police officers patrolling the area as well because it is a tourist area but i wouldn't wander off past that area. the room appeared fine upon arrival. it had tile floors rather than carpet and was pretty spacious with a nice flat screen tv. let me just mention also that we were only staying here for one night after our cruise so we just dropped off our bags and went to a beach for the day after checking in. after we returned from the beach, we then started realizing problems with the room. the towels were all stained with fresh stains.... not stains that were just set after being washed. they looked like someone wiped their mouth on them and housekeeping never bothered to wash them. we then inspected the bed because we were nervous now... we found the sheet had food like stains on it as well and tons of hair that wasn't ours since the bed was made and we had just uncovered it. the fitted bed sheet had dirt marks and dried food on it as well as the inside of the comforter. the sheets were extremely wrinkled, which usually i'm not picky about as long as they're clean, but these sheets looked slept on and that's why they were wrinkled not because they cleaned them without ironing them. the pillows had tons of hair and stains as well as a red stain which appeared to be dried blood. we told housekeeping and she said it was cleaned and they didn't forget to wash everything. we asked for new linens which were better but still had fresh stains on some. we realized that their laundry service is either broken or just careless and gave up. we used the one sheet that was clean and slept on it with no pillows and nothing to cover up with because we were do grossed out. also- we had a large family next to us that were probably pretty loud but since the rooms have tile floor, everything echoes and you can hear EVERYTHING. banging doors, talking and whispering. anyway, like i said... i don't like confrontation or bashing anyone but i just didn't want anyone to stay here until they get their act together. it was a miserable night and i've never stayed in a hotel that was so filty. it's a shame because choice hotels are usually great for your money... not this one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arubabesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 night following our cruise. The room was not fancy, but very comfortable, clean and the beds slept great! A good value for the price. The desk clerk was very helpful in recommending businesses in the area. Rooms on the front side had partial views of the water and streets. Late night food delivery is available here for all types of sandwiches, salads, pizza, etc. (The desk clerk had a menu). If you don't wnt to walk to main streets, it close to bus route and always an available taxi. Only 15 minutes to the airport.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, so could not hear all the street noise. Next time I would choose a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jangwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.0 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 48 in San Juan
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 48 in San Juan
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 6 Calle Clemenceau | Condado, San Juan 00907-1608, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing