We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Served the purpose.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
brookings sd
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Served the purpose.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I used this hotel as a pre-cruise stay for our family. We had four rooms. We were very happy to find hotel that could accommodate us for a reasonable price. The lady at the front desk was very sweet and nice when we checked in. Later, there was another person there, who was not quite as friendly, but still fine. Some of our family said the beds were very noisy and crinkled whenever they moved. The bed my husband and I had did not do this, however. That is why I ranked sleep quality so low. My daughter said she put towels on the floor and tried to sleep there because the bed was so noisy. So if you go, you may wish to specify a room without a crinkling mattress.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mattress that does not make loud noises when you move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyhock-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    84
    37
    13
    20
See reviews for
61
79
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

this hotel is very near to intl airport n public transportation. PR is a very expensive destination. very clean rooms. it has a walgreens very close by. is not a touristic area but is what you need, ac, clean rooms, refrigerator, microwave and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

You would need to decide what your looking to do in San Juan. If your adding on days to a cruise then this wouldn't be for you. It is almost a $30.00 taxi ride from the airport as they have to cross a toll bridge. It's just a little less to get to the cruise ships. It is not even close to old town which is an amazing area. The price of the hotel is not such a bargain unless you have a rental car as you would end up with more in taxi fees. Did not check out public buses so maybe that would be an option.

As stated the rooms are very small and basic, but did come with a microwave and fridge. The place is kept incredibly clean. They are so poorly constructed that if you have any sleep issues you won't be getting any sleep during your stay here. It is really as though your room doesn't even have a door. So very NOSIY!

The staff was very courteous and helpful, but would not recommend this place to a friend or stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I liked how clean this place was. Very nice Caribbean style rooms. Ice cold a/c. I slept like a baby even though there was partying outside. If you go to Puerto Rico and expect it to be quiet... Please just divert your flight to North Dakota or something. Very friendly staff. People outside were friendly even the strangers. You can walk around and explore, there is plenty of police presence and the students won't bother you. There is no damn parking but they help you find a spot across the street at the church and they will watch your car, just give them the keys and they bend over backwards to help you. It was fun outside just sitting there on a chair listening to salsa music and watching hot Puertorican babes one after the other pass by every three seconds while I sipped on ice cold medalla light beers. It's awesome in my opinion. It's way different from the tourist zone but I think some people can get culture shock. Don't be scared to rent and stay at dreams hotel in rio piedras . You will have good breakfast choices walking distance at the bakeries. Great coffee and puertoricans are friendly ... Don't let the bums begging you for a quarter and the mangy dogs scare you. Just say scat! Or leave me alone! And keep walking without worries. Ask people questions... They will help you. Puertoricans are very friendly and proud so they will talk to you even in broken English and help you with advice. The island thrives on tourism remember. Have fun.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimmyredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room was very clean. The price was good.
The desk staff were very helpful and made good suggestions how to get around and resturants etc.
The street in front of the hotel seems to be where college aged kids go to socialize and party. We were not bothered by the noise from the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sea-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It did not start off well when they had no record of my reservation. When I produced my copy of the confirmation, the desk clerk called someone for advice and I was given a room. The room was quiet and comfortable. It was behind the gate and did not require climbing stairs.

The price was right. However, you have to pay by PayPal so there is no credit card protection. The WiFi signal did not reach the interior of the room and the breakfast was minimal. The surrounding neighborhood is not pretty, but it did not seem to be unsafe. As others have noted, there are Walgreens and other small stores nearby. It was a Saturday night, not a Thursday night, so there was no issue with noise from student partying.

One advantage is that you can travel to and from this hotel without having to deal with the monopolistic San Juan taxi companies. The #40 bus took me from the airport to the University of San Juan tower, within 2 blocks of the hotel, for 75 cents. The Tren Urbano (subway train - 75 cents) to the Hato Rey station, at the Coliseum, and then the Acua Expreso boat (one dollar) took me to old San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Stu5390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dreams Hotel was a good place to stay for the price. We only stayed 1 night because we were going on to another destination. The bed was comfortable enough. The room and hotel were clean. The staff is GREAT!! I was able to do the main part including booking a room by TEXT and calling on my cell phone. PR is free for me to call/text to. We are in our 40's so the stairs weren't a problem, but if you have a larger suitcase it could be a bit difficult to get to your room due to the small hallway/stairway. The one thing I wish I had of thought of was the price of the cab both ways and the bridge toll EACH way. If we had of stayed closer to the airport I could have saved $65 and maybe stayed at a more expensive place.

Room Tip: There is no choice in rooms as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieLS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan
3.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#39 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#32 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Property: Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Address: 109 Ave Universidad | Paseo Jaime Benitez, San Juan 00925-2424, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem for the budget traveler. Centrally located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Not in the touristic area.Very clean, comfortable and recently renovated rooms. Nearby Int'l Airport, University of Puerto Rico, Plaza las Americas Shopping Center, VA Hospital, Paseo de Diego, Piers. Old San Juan and Puerto Rico Convention are 4 miles away from us. Exceptionally warm, friendly and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing