We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nice hotel.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room was very clean. The price was good.
The desk staff were very helpful and made good suggestions how to get around and resturants etc.
The street in front of the hotel seems to be where college aged kids go to socialize and party. We were not bothered by the noise from the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sea-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    85
    37
    13
    20
See reviews for
61
81
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It did not start off well when they had no record of my reservation. When I produced my copy of the confirmation, the desk clerk called someone for advice and I was given a room. The room was quiet and comfortable. It was behind the gate and did not require climbing stairs.

The price was right. However, you have to pay by PayPal so there is no credit card protection. The WiFi signal did not reach the interior of the room and the breakfast was minimal. The surrounding neighborhood is not pretty, but it did not seem to be unsafe. As others have noted, there are Walgreens and other small stores nearby. It was a Saturday night, not a Thursday night, so there was no issue with noise from student partying.

One advantage is that you can travel to and from this hotel without having to deal with the monopolistic San Juan taxi companies. The #40 bus took me from the airport to the University of San Juan tower, within 2 blocks of the hotel, for 75 cents. The Tren Urbano (subway train - 75 cents) to the Hato Rey station, at the Coliseum, and then the Acua Expreso boat (one dollar) took me to old San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Stu5390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dreams Hotel was a good place to stay for the price. We only stayed 1 night because we were going on to another destination. The bed was comfortable enough. The room and hotel were clean. The staff is GREAT!! I was able to do the main part including booking a room by TEXT and calling on my cell phone. PR is free for me to call/text to. We are in our 40's so the stairs weren't a problem, but if you have a larger suitcase it could be a bit difficult to get to your room due to the small hallway/stairway. The one thing I wish I had of thought of was the price of the cab both ways and the bridge toll EACH way. If we had of stayed closer to the airport I could have saved $65 and maybe stayed at a more expensive place.

Room Tip: There is no choice in rooms as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieLS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Here is a heads up: Dreams Hotel is more “puertorican” experience than “tourist” experience. With that said, regarding noise, commotion, traffic, terrible public transportation, that goes around the hotel, that’s Puerto Rico.

The service is amazing! You are greeted with genuinely friendly staff and really helpful.
The price is great!
The location is awesome! You have “colmado” (mini market), bars, restaurant, pharmacy, train and bus station, all at walking distance.
The room was clean! Im not a big fan of hotels with rugs since no vacuum is strong enough to remove germs. At least with tiles, you can mop the floor with a detergent and disinfect.

Room has a small fridge and microwave, but no plates or utensil. None the less, I’m pretty sure if you ask the staff they would help you out on this.

They provide continental breakfast. The key word is “continental”. Don’t expect a full blast breakfast, since they clearly specify “continental”.

Ill definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont,ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have booked this hotel for the price. We have stayed here for 3 nights, we arrived the place on Thursday around midnight. It is a bad choice to arrive on Thursday night, it was the party night. We stuck in the traffic for almost half an hour to travel 2 blocks to the hotel. It was people everywhere, the noise didn't die down until Friday morning. The following two nights was fine, no noise. The room we stayed has a double and a twin, accommodates three people. It is one bedroom and one kitchenette, has a small frig and a microwave, one small table and two chairs. The room was pretty small, more like an apartment than hotel. It comes with continental breakfast, bread, jams and fruit. In the room not much of amenities, soap only and towels, we end up buying our own shampoo. There is free wifi, mostly need to be used in the hall way, signal is too weak in the room. No elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoreWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I was afraid of what to expect in the rooms as well as the safety of the area. Heard horror stories about the driving in Puerto Rico. My concerns were in vain. Prime location for those that love to shop (car rental not needed). Very affordable!

Room
The rooms were nice. Personal bathroom, kitchenette, fridge, tv, microwave, dresser drawers, table and 2 chairs. Rooms are cleaned once requested and iron board and iron available upon request. WiFi available!! Hot water!! Comfortable beds.

Location
I felt safe in the location. Many officers clearly patrolling the area. Very close (within walking distance) to 2 train stations, bus stops, restaurants (Burger King, Chinese, Dennys, Subway, etc.), Walgreens and many shopping stores (great prices). Transportation Note:Caught the Bayamon train, got off at Deportivo Stop and walked 2 mins to Santa Rosa Mall where Burlingtons and other stores were located. Caught bus T3 to Plaza Las Americas. Rio Pedras Shopping about 7 mins walk from the hotel.

Staff
The best staff ever. Very nice helpful and filled with answers regarding Puerto Rico. Speaks English very well.

Continental Breakfast
Well I think pancakes, eggs, sausage when I think Continental Breakfast. In this case there was peanut butter, jelly, fruits, bread, butter, toaster, juice and coffee available. For me that was fine (unsure how others would feel).

Noise
Thursday night, is party night somewhat up the road. I however was not disturbed (due to location of my room perhaps) so I have no complaints in that regards.

Security
Room Doors has a double locking dead bolt, and 2 door chains. Outside there is a security gate and surveillance cameras. Police patrolled Rio Pedras and the Police station, within walking distance.

All in all, I have no complaints, definitely will be back again and sure am telling all my friends. Will do more sight seeing on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Back!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andriear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were running out of money and looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in San Juan when we happened upon Dreams Hotel! We didn't know what to expect, but realized our options were running low and the price was right. When we got there, I was immediately impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner, Elena! She gave us a room that had both refrigerator and microwave and was clean, comfortable and safe! It was located in the Rio Piedras section of San Juan quite near the main campus of the University of Puerto Rico and a station for the Tren Urbano. It was also located near two colmados (convenience stores) where the folks there were equally friendly and welcoming. Mastro's Restaurant around the corner which Elena recommended had excellent hand-thrown pizzas equally reasonably priced. A walgreen's a couple of blocks away had everything you might need and a bakery on the street parallel to Dreams had equally great pastries. I was so impressed with the quality of the hotel already and then I discovered that they also provided a limited continental breakfast as well which I hadn't expected! Though this place is not near the beach, it would still be a great base to explore other parts of Puerto Rico from. While we were there, I saw two other families with small children staying there that seemed like they came from one of the other islands. The other guests were like us - regular folks looking for a place to stay that's not seedy, but economical and fortuitously we found it! There was some construction going on while we were there and I found out that they were adding 16 more rooms. I was happy to know their business is thriving and hope they'll still have room for us the next time we visit. Only after we returned home did I learn there is a famous large Mercado in the area which I wish we could have visited! Plaza Mercado Rio Piedras will be on our itinerary next time we visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, air conditioned and safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yinzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 48 in San Juan
806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Centro Cardiovascular San Juan
3.9 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
3.8 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 48 in San Juan
286 reviews
5.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Property: Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Address: 109 Ave Universidad | Paseo Jaime Benitez, San Juan 00925-2424, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem for the budget traveler. Centrally located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Not in the touristic area.Very clean, comfortable and recently renovated rooms. Nearby Int'l Airport, University of Puerto Rico, Plaza las Americas Shopping Center, VA Hospital, Paseo de Diego, Piers. Old San Juan and Puerto Rico Convention are 4 miles away from us. Exceptionally warm, friendly and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing